Academic Calendar
2008 - 2009


FALL 2008 1

Faculty Return Wednesday August 20
Classes Begin Wednesday August 27 Weekend classes begin Fri & Sat, August 29 & 30
Labor Day Holiday Monday September 1
Fall Break Holidays -- Students3 Thursday - Fruday October 16 - 17 Weekend holiday Friday - Saturday, October 17 - 18
Fall Break Holidays -- Faculty4 Friday October 17
First Block Classes End Monday October 20
Second Block Classes Begin Tuesday October 21
Thanksgiving Holidays -- Students3 Wednesday - Friday November 26 - 28 Weekend holiday Friday & Saturday, November 28 & 29
Thanksgiving Holidays -- Faculty4 Thursday - Friday November 27 - 28
Classes End Thursday December 11 Weekend classes Friday & Saturday, December 12 & 13
Study Day Friday December 12 Faculty Contract Day
Final Exams Monday - Thursday December 15 - 18 Weekend finals Fri & Sat, December 18 & 19
Fall Semester Ends Thursday December 18
Grading Day Friday December 19 Faculty Contract Day

 

SPRING 2009 1

Faculty Return Monday January 5
Classes Begin Wednesday January 7 Weekend classes begin Fri & Sat, January 9 & 10
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Holiday Monday January 19
Washington and Lincoln Day Holiday3 Monday February 16
First Block Classes End Friday February 27
Second Block Classes Begin Saturday February 28
Spring Break Holidays -- Students3 Wednesday - Friday March 18 - 20 Weekend holiday Friday & Saturday, March 20 & 21
Spring Break Holidays -- Faculty4 Thursday - Friday March 19 - 20
Classes End Thursday April 23
Study Day Friday April 24
Final Exams Monday - Thursday April 27 - 30 Weekend finals Friday & Saturday, April 24 & 25
Spring Semester Ends Thursday April 30
Commencement Friday May 1
Grading Day Friday May 1

 

SUMMER 2009 1

Session I: Classes Begin Wednesday May 6 Course section numbers: Day = 001, Evening = 601
Memorial Day Holiday Monday May 25
Independence Day Holiday Friday July 3
Pioneer Day Holiday Friday July 24
Session I: Classes End  Friday August 14
Session II: Classes Begin Wednesday May 6 Course section numbers: Day = A01, Evening = A61;
Memorial Day Holiday Monday May 25
Session II: Classes End Wednesday June 24  
Session III: Classes Begin Thursday June 25 Course section numbers: Day = A01, Evening = A61;
Independence Day Holiday Friday July 3
Pioneer Day Holiday Friday July 24
Session III: Classes End Friday August 14
Session IV: Weekend Classes Begin Friday - Saturday May 8 - 9 Course section numbers: Day = WF1, Evening = WF1;
Independence Day Holiday Friday - Saturday July 3 - 4
Session IV: Weekend Classes End Friday - Saturday July 17 - 18
 
Note:  Other calendar options may be available on a limited basis for certain specialized courses.
1Approved by the Board of Trustees 08-Mar-2007: At the time this calendar was proposed and approved, the dates for the Fall 2008 UEA Convention were not yet set. UVU typically coordinates its Fall Break with these convention dates (if the convention is held during the first part of October).
2Revisions 30-Nov-2007:  Fall Break Holiday dates changed from 09-Oct-2008 - 10-Oct-2008 to 16-Oct-2008 - 17-Oct-2008 to match recently published UEA convention dates. Provo, Alpine and Nebo school districts will also be holding their Fall Breaks to include the UEA convention dates.
30-May-2008: Some Weekend class dates clarified to include Fridays for those weekend classes that meet on Fridays.
3No access to UVU computing resources.  Contact the Information Technology Office with any questions. Fall Break = Friday 5 pm - Sunday
Thanksgiving Holiday = Wednesday 5 pm - Sunday
President's Day Holiday = Friday 5 pm - Monday
Spring Break = Thursday 5 pm - Sunday
4Faculty Flex Days October 16, November 26, March 18
These days are counted in the number of faculty contract days, but the faculty have the ability to take off those days if they choose. If they do take off some or all of those days, they must work an equivalent amount during other times not designated as part of their contract days (or use personal leave days).
5Revisions 11-Jan-2008: Sessions renumbered to match the session order used for Summer 2008.
30-May-2008: Change to weekend classes in Session IV.