If a check, including electronic checks, that was written to the University is returned unpaid for any reason by the issuing bank the University will use all means necessary to collect payment of the check. In accordance with Section 7-15-1, Utah Code Annotated, you are liable for each returned check together with a service charge of $20, which must be paid to Utah Valley University.
The check will be charged back to the student's account and that student will be responsible for payment of that check regardless of who wrote the check (i.e. parents, guardians, spouse, employer, etc.). A $20 returned check service charge will be assessed for each item returned from a bank regardless of the reason it was returned. Penalties apply if the balance remains unpaid.
Notification will be mailed by the Collections Office to the issuing party and/or the individual in whose behalf the check was issued. The address on the check or an address in the official University records will be used to notify of the returned check.
ConsequencesAt the discretion of the University, consequences of not paying a returned check may include the withholding of registration, transcripts or immediate cancellation of the student's classes and any applicable late registration fees. Check cashing privileges and use of other services using personal checks may be suspended for any individual who has a check returned to the institution. Any returned check item that is not paid promptly may be referred to a collection agency for further action and reported to a nationwide credit reporting agency.
In accordance with 7-15-1, Utah Code Annotated, appropriate civil legal action may be filed for the full amount of returned checks due and owing together with service charges, collection costs not to exceed $20, interest, court costs, and attorney fees as provided by law. In addition, foregoing civil action does not preclude the rights of prosecution under the criminal code of the State of Utah.
PaymentsPayments can be made by mailing payment to the Collections Office, bringing payment to the Bursar's Office or OneStop in the Browning Administration Building, or online through UVLink.
AppealExceptions to the return check service charge are considered if the check was returned in error by the bank or credit union. This must be documented by the financial institution on official letterhead. Students who wish to appeal the return check service charge must complete the Returned Check Service Charge Petition Form and attach any supporting documents. Petitions must be submitted within 15 days from when UVU received the returned check. Submission of the petition form does not guarantee approval.
QuestionsStudents who have any questions regarding returned checks or have had a check returned to the University are encouraged to contact us as soon as possible at 801.863.8611 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Utah Valley University return check procedures are in compliance with Utah Code 7-15-1.