Faculty Senate Minutes

April 1, 2014 LC 243, 3:00-5:00 pm



Present: Jon Anderson, Debanjan Bhattacharjee, Mark Bracken, Clayton Brown, Kat Brown, Monica Campbell, Alan Clarke, Marty Clayton, David Connelly, Karen Cushing, Matthew Draper, Lars Eggertsen, Wioleta Fedeczko, Debora Ferreira, Doug Gardner, Barry Hallsted, Vance Hillman, John Hunt, Yang Huo, Jill Jasperson, Ellis Jensen, Mi Ok Kang, Gary Measom, Gary Mercado, David Morin, Tyler Nelson, CheolHwan Oh, Dennis Potter, Jacqueline Preston, Leslie Simon, Cyrill Slezak, Nancy Steele-Makasci, Allison Swenson, Darin Taylor, Russ Thornley, Craig Thulin, Violeta Vasilevska, Marcus Vincent, Lorraine Wallace, Mallory Wallin (UVUSA), Ian Wilson, Alex Yuan

Excused or Absent: Steve Allred, Deborah Baird, Kathy Black, Joel Bradford, Leo Chan, David Dean, Joel Herd (PACE), Matthew Holland, Vessela Ilieva, Dianne Knight, Ryan Leick, Dan McDonald, Rick Moody, Kent Walker

Call to order – 3:03 p.m.

Approval of Minutes from March 18, 2014. Minutes approved.

PACE

Herd reported that there is a group promoting UVU spirit and are interested in how faculty
would like to be involved. The idea is for it to be a campus-wide promotion and not just athletic
related. Send suggestions to Joel Herd.

UVUSA

- Mallory Wallin is the new Academic Vice President for next year, but will finish out this year's meetings since Tyler was elected Student Body President.
- Eric Stonestreet from Modern Family will be a Guest Speaker next Monday, April 7, at Noon.

SVPAA Search

 Please submit your comments/concerns on any of the candidates to Kat Brown or Karen Cushing.

Senate Structure

• Role of Interim Vice President - David Connelly proposed to the Senate that during his interim year as President the creation of a Vice President position for the Faculty Senate. This position would be an internal function only. He noted that this preserves the stability of the Senate in the President's inability to serve and can assist in other roles. The position will assist in attending meetings and serve on committees. It was recommended that the position be assigned the same duties as either the President-Elect or Past President.

- **MOTION** Dennis Potter motioned to establish an interim Vice President position for the 2014-2015 academic year. Matt Draper seconded. All in favor? Motion passed; 2 Abstentions.
- MOTION Mark Bracken motioned that nominations for the Vice President position be submitted to David Connelly by April 15 and vote at that meeting. Lorraine Wallace seconded. Concerns: 1) what are the meetings or committees that the President is involved in, and 2) need sufficient time for the elected individual's course schedules to be altered. All in Favor? Motion passed; 2 Opposed; 7 Abstentions.
- **MOTION** Jon Anderson motioned to open nominations immediately. Russ Thornley seconded. All in Favor? Motion passed; 1 Opposed; 1 Abstention.
- Nominations Mark Bracken nominated Gary Measom who accepted.

Policy

Policy 504 – Excessive Credit Hours Earned Tuition Surcharge

• **MOTION** – Russ Thornley motion to move the policy forward. Jon Anderson seconded. All in Favor? Motion passed; 3 Abstentions.

MOTION - Jon Anderson motioned to reorder the agenda. Dennis Potter seconded. All in Favor? Motion passed.

Policy 522 – *Undergraduate Credit and Transcripts*

- Margaret Bellon provided an overview of the policy. Senators expressed concern that the
 "academic renewal" devalues the degree while others argue in favor of students who mess
 up in the beginning and then redeem themselves. Senate would like language added that
 stipulates that the use of the academic renewal is only to bring their GPA up to the
 graduation requirement.
- MOTION Alan Clarke motioned that language be added to the policy that stipulates that
 the use of the academic renewal is only to bring their GPA up to the graduation
 requirement.
- Senate was asked to review the policy and submit any comments to David Connelly.
- Senate would like to know if other USHE and non-USHE institutions have this type of policy
 and how they handle them such as a petition. Additionally, Senate would like to know how
 many students have taken advantage of this policy and the reasons for their request.
 Margaret Bellon will follow up and provide the information to David Connelly.
- No vote was taken on the motion.

Policy 638 – Post-Tenure Review

 Two policy proposal modifications were presented previously by Dennis Potter and Alan Clarke. It has been determined that Dennis Potter's proposal will not be doable leaving Alan Clarke's proposal on the table. Clarke now proposes to form an Ad hoc committee to focus on three things: 1) take the language out of the Faculty Personnel Reduction policy (Policy 648) that had to do with termination and competency and leaving only two policies: Posttenure and Appeals. Then build a robust remediation policy and leave termination as the last possible recourse after multiple remedial attempts. He proposes that all appeals processes (Tenure, Rank and Promotion) be combined into one appeals policy that includes due process language stating you have a property right in your job. Recommended building in items regarding the annual review.

- Connelly reported that the Annual Review policy should be of more concern as this policy will be the one that ultimately triggers the Post-tenure policy.
- Kat Brown reported that it is her understanding that Policy 646 can be open in a limited scope to insert the post-tenure language. She also recommended continuing the post-tenure discussion and hold moving the policy into Stage 3 until the Annual Review policy comes forward to be sure there are no contradictions. Once Faculty Senate has reviewed the Annual Review policy, limited scope, and the Post-tenure, then move all policies forward as a package into Stage 3.
- MOTION Mark Bracken motioned to form the Ad hoc committee to work on the policy as
 discussed and bring back to the Faculty Senate for approval. Jon Anderson seconded. All in
 Favor? Motion passed. Committee Members: David Connelly, Kat Brown, Alan Clarke,
 Dennis Potter, Doug Gardner, Clayton Brown, and Jill Jasperson.

Mark Bracken motioned to adjourn at 5:00 pm. Meeting adjourned.