Latin American Studies

Latin American Studies Minor

The minor in Latin American Studies (LAS) provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary understanding of Latin American and Latino culture, history, and language.  This is particularly important for preparing UVU students to be fully competitive in the global marketplace since two of the top ten trading partners of the United States, Mexico and Brazil, are located in Latin America. Students learn to comprehend the unique geographical and historical complexities of Latin America and its place in the world, as well as the multifaceted cultural backgrounds of their fellow students whose families are from that vast area. A minor in LAS complements a diverse number of majors giving our students the opportunity to prepare for a future working with either Utah’s growing Latino population or beyond the state pursuing opportunities abroad.

Faculty

 
Name Email Phone Professional Page
Ana M. Aguilera ana.aguilera@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6736 University Professional Page
Brett M Brenton bbreton@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 8885 University Professional Page
Daniel Fairbanks fairbada@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6441 University Professional Page
Debora Ferreira debora.ferreira@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6919 University Professional Page
Douglas C. Jensen jensendo@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 7162 University Professional Page
Lydia R. Kerr lkerr@uvu.edu   University Professional Page
David Knowlton dknowlton@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6196 University Professional Page
Olga R. Kopp koppol@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6259 University Professional Page
Baldomero Lago lagoba@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 7301 University Professional Page
Mark W. Lentz mlentz@uvu.edu   University Professional Page
Yudi Lewis yudi.lewis@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 7297 University Professional Page
Jorge Nisguritzer nisgurjo@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 8231 University Professional Page
Andre Oliveira aoliveira@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 5379 University Professional Page

Maritza Sotomayor

maritza.sotomayor@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6502 University Professional Page
Sara Ulloa ulloasa@uvu.edu (801) 863 - 6257 University Professional Page

 

{{name}}

{{name}}

{{title}}

{{subtitle}}

Professional Page

{{phone}} | {{office}}

Announcements and Upcoming Events

Portuguese at UVU table during event

Quick Links

Catalog

View Courses