view of the museum sign above the mall entrance

Visit

The Woodbury Art Museum is free and open to the public
Tuesday 11A-8P & Wednesday-Saturday 11A-5P.

575 East University Parkway N250
Orem, UT, 84097
(801)-863-4200
uvmuseum@uvu.edu

The Woodbury Art Museum is located on the southeast corner of the University Mall.

Mission

The Woodbury Art Museum serves as a catalyst in engaging our community in aesthetic investigation and cultural awareness. The museum collects, preserves, and exhibits art and related materials, focusing on, but not limited to, modern and contemporary artistic styles. These exhibitions, programs, and collections stimulate research and serve as a valuable resource in our academic setting as well as in the community.

History

The Woodbury Art Museum exists out of the generosity of Orrin and Wally Woodbury. Their gracious donation of funds sought to create an art museum for the campus of Utah Valley University. The museum has been in operation since 2002.

Over the past fourteen years, the museum has collected nearly 500 works of art and accrued five named collections. Together, these works create the Permanent Collection and are displayed periodically on a rotating timeline. The museum cares for the collection, and works to conserve pieces in need on an annual basis. The WAM also remains dedicated to advocating for artists on display.

In addition to object-based programming, the museum has increased community outreach and engagement over the last several years. As a publicly focused department of Utah Valley University, the museum involves local stakeholders, new audiences, and students and faculty in project-based research and activities. Attendance averages about 10,000 visitors a year and admission has been free to the public since the beginning years as Utah Valley State College’s Woodbury Art Gallery.

Museum Staff

Melissa Hempel

Melissa Hempel

Director / Curator


MHempel@uvu.edu
801-863-6743
Danielle Lambert

Danielle Lambert

Visitor Services / Administration


DLambert@uvu.edu
801-863-4200
Jessica Kramer

Jessica Kramer

Registrar


JKramer@uvu.edu
801-863-6470
Susan Brodeur

Susan Brodeur

Graphics


SBrodeur@uvu.edu
801-863-6741
Raquel Gibson

Raquel Gibson

Assistant Registrar


RGibson@uvu.edu
Lisa Jensen

Lisa Jensen

Student Workers

Taylor Wright

Taylor Wright

Student Workers