Our Mission

The Department of Music promotes student success through innovative programs that enhance creativity, hone performance expertise, and sustain high standards of excellence. Our professional faculty provide learning opportunities essential to the competency of music students as they prepare for a global marketplace. The department engages diverse audiences through performances and activities representing an array of musical styles and traditions.

Our objectives are to:

  1. Provide nationally-competitive academic programs and general music studies in music that help students achieve their educational, professional, and personal goals. 
  2. Present substantive public performances reflecting diverse musical styles and traditions that provide real-world contexts for student learning and engage audiences with meaningful cultural experiences.
  3. Create an inclusive environment that provides opportunities for students from a wide variety of backgrounds and perspectives to succeed.
  4. Attract, develop, and retain high-achieving students and qualified faculty by promoting opportunities for creative and innovative activities on- and off-campus.

Faculty / Staff

Administration

Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Department Chair

donna.fairbanks@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6538 | GT 332c | MS:165
Chris Gines

Chris Gines

Chris Gines

Chris Gines

Administrative Assistant

christine.gines@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6480 | GT 332 | MS:165

Ensembles

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Associate Professor: Director of Orchestral Studies

cheung.chau@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5488 | FA 301 | MS:165
Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Associate Professor: Director of Choral Activities

reed.criddle@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7432 | GT 336 | MS:165
Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Assistant Professor: Director of Jazz and Contemporary Performance

alex.heitlinger@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5643 | FA 303 | MS:165
Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Assistant Professor: Director of Bands

thomas.keck@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6188 | FA 313 | MS:165
Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Assistant Professor: Director of UVU Opera

isaac.hurtado@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 421 | MS:165
Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Assistant Professor: Percussion Area Coordinator

douglas.smith@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5408 | GT 421 | MS:165
Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 735 | MS:165

Music Studies

Daniel Ferguson

Daniel Ferguson

Daniel Ferguson

Daniel Ferguson

Adjunct Instructor:Ethnomusicology

Daniel.Ferguson@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Ross Hagen

Ross Hagen

Ross Hagen

Ross Hagen

Assistant Professor

ross.hagen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | FA 312 | MS:165
Aaron Kirschner

Aaron Kirschner

Aaron Kirschner

Aaron Kirschner

Adjunct Instructor:Theory

akirschner@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Bryce Rytting

Bryce Rytting

Bryce Rytting

Bryce Rytting

Professor: Theory & Musicology

bryce.rytting@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6852 | FA 310 | MS:165

Music Education

Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Assistant Professor: Director of Bands

thomas.keck@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6188 | FA 313 | MS:165
Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Assistant Professor: Percussion Area Coordinator

douglas.smith@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5408 | GT 421 | MS:165
Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 735 | MS:165

Commercial Music

Tyler Castleton

Tyler Castleton

Tyler Castleton

Tyler Castleton

Adjunct Instructor:Songwriting

tcastleton@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Assistant Professor: Director of Jazz and Contemporary Performance

alex.heitlinger@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5643 | FA 303 | MS:165
Nathan Hofheins

Nathan Hofheins

Nathan Hofheins

Nathan Hofheins

Artist in Residence: Commercial Music - Composition & Production

nhofheins@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5486 | FA 302 | MS:165
Todd Sorensen

Todd Sorensen

Todd Sorensen

Todd Sorensen

Artist in Residence: Commercial Music - Composition & Production

todd.sorensen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5485 | GT 342 | MS:165

Applied Music / Performance

Brass

Natalie Douglass

Natalie Douglass

Natalie Douglass

Natalie Douglass

Assistant Professor: French HornBrass Coordinator

natalie.douglass@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | FA 308  | MS:165
Dr. Seretta Hart

Seretta Hart

  |   | MS:165
Mike McCawley

Mike McCawley

Mike McCawley

Mike McCawley

Tuba

10222447@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Craig Moore

Craig Moore

Craig Moore

Craig Moore

Trombone

10658765@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Kyra Sovronsky

Kyra Sovronsky

Kyra Sovronsky

Kyra Sovronsky

Trumpet

kyra.sovronsky@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165

Guitar

Kristen Bromley

Kristen Bromley

Kristen Bromley

Kristen Bromley

 

kbromley@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 509a | MS:165
Rich Dixon

Rich Dixon

  | GT 509a | MS:165
Cindy Spell

Cindy Spell

Cindy Spell

Cindy Spell

Guitar Coordinator  

cynthia.spell@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 509a | MS:165

Percussion

Jed Blodgett

Jed Blodgett

  |   | MS:165
Keith Carrick

Keith Carrick

  |   |  MS:165
Stephen Lyman

Stephen Lyman

  |   | MS:165
Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Assistant Professor: Percussion Area Coordinator

douglas.smith@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5408 | GT 421 | MS:165

Piano

Koji Attwood

Koji Attwood

Koji Attwood

Koji Attwood

Piano

10659560@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Hilary Demske

Hilary Demske

Hilary Demske

Hilary Demske

Associate Professor: Piano Coordinator

hilary.demske@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7360 | GT 337b | MS:165
Joanna Oshida

Joanna Oshida

  |   | MS:165
Kurt Reeder

Kurt Reeder

Kurt Reeder

Kurt Reeder

Jazz Piano

10572405@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Armen Sahakyan

Armen Sahakyan

  |   | MS:165

Strings

Denson Angulo

Denson Angulo

Denson Angulo

Denson Angulo

Double Bass & Electric Bass

denson.angulo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Yeagi Broadwell

Yeagi Broadwell

  |   | MS:165
Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Associate Professor: Director of Orchestral Studies

cheung.chau@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5488 | FA 736 | MS:165
Paula Cho

Paula Cho

  |   | MS:165
Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Department Chair

donna.fairbanks@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6538 | GT 332c | MS:165
Leslie Harlow

Leslie Harlow

Leslie Harlow

Leslie Harlow

Viola / Chamber

harlomar@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Jakob Hofer

Jakob Hofer

  |   | MS:165
Janet Peterson

Janet Peterson

  |   | MS:165
Cynthia Richards

Cynthia Richards

  |   | MS:165
Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Cello

monikar@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165

Voice

Demaree Brown

Demaree Brown

  |   | MS:165
Serena Kanig Benish

Serena Kanig Benish

Serena Kanig Benish

Serena Kanig Benish

Voice

serena.kanig@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Cecily Bills

Cecily Bills

Cecily Bills

Cecily Bills

Voice

10585367@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Associate Professor: Director of Choral Activities

reed.criddle@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7432 | GT 336 | MS:165
Melissa Heath

Melissa Heath

Melissa Heath

Melissa Heath

Assistant Professor: Voice Coordinator

melissa.heath@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5307 | FA 305 | MS:165
Christopher Holmes

Christopher Holmes

Christopher Holmes

Christopher Holmes

Voice

cholmes@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Assistant Professor: Voice / Opera

isaac.hurtado@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 421 | MS:165
Connie Jensen

Connie Jensen

  | GT 337 | MS:165
Juan Pereira

Juan Pereira

Juan Pereira

Juan Pereira

Voice

jpereira@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Marc Reynolds

Marc Reynolds

  |   | MS:165
Heide-Marie Slezak

Heide-Marie Slezak

Heide-Marie Slezak

Heide-Marie Slezak

Voice

hslezak@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 306 | MS:165

Woodwinds

Marco Blackmore

Marco Blackmore

Marco Blackmore

Marco Blackmore

  Saxophone

 mblackmore@uvu.edu 

Professional Page

  |   |  MS:165
Rebecca Chapman

Rebecca Chapman

  |   | MS:165
Luca Florin

Luca Florin

Luca Florin

Luca Florin

Oboe / English Horn

lflorin@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Brian Hicks

Brian Hicks

Brian Hicks

Brian Hicks

Bassoon

10014740@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Jeffrey O'Flynn

Jeffrey O'Flynn

Jeffrey O'Flynn

Jeffrey O'Flynn

Assistant Professor: ClarinetWoodwind Coordinator

jeffrey.oflynn@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8810 | FA 307 | MS:165

Collaborative Piano

Jana Ellsworth

Jana Ellsworth

  |   | MS:165
Jayne Galloway

Jayne Galloway

  |   | MS:165
Michael Leavitt

Michael Leavitt

  |   | MS:165
Jed Moss

Jed Moss

  |   | MS:165
John Sargeant

John Sargeant

  |   | MS:165
Lori Weiss

Lori Weiss

  |   | MS:165

 

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

Professional associations provide information, conferences, workshops, competition and presentation opportunities, and networking support for musicians pursing professional careers. Many of these associations offer student memberships at discounted rates. Here is a sampling of national and Utah music associations.