Philosophy Faculty

Scott Abbott

Scott Abbott

Professor • Integrated Studies, Philosophy & Humanities

scott.abbott@uvu.edu
CB 311E • 801-863-8537

Ph.D. German Literature, Princeton University
German literature and philosophy, studies of motifs (metaphor of standing, barbed wire, secret societies), travel writing. 

Thomas Bretz

Thomas Bretz

Assistant Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

tbretz@uvu.edu
CB 507J • 801-863-8775

Ph.D. Philosophy, Loyola University Chicago
AOS: Environmental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Feminist Theory, and Derrida

Brian Birch

Brian Birch

Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

brian.birch@uvu.edu
CB-411a • 801-863-6363

Ph.D. Philosophy of Religion and Theology, Claremont Graduate University
AOS: Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, and Wittgenstein

Elaine Englehardt

Elaine Englehardt

Distinguished Professor • Ethics

ElaineE@uvu.edu
CB-411c • 801-863-6464

Ph.D. Communication/Philosophy, University of Utah
AOS: Ethics, Communication Ethics, Media Ethics, Organizational Ethics, Interpersonal Ethics, Bioethics

Laura Guerrero

Laura Guerrero

Assistant Professor • Philosophy

Laura.Guerrero@uvu.edu

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of New Mexico
AOS: Buddhist Philosophy, classical Indian Philosophy, Epistemology, and Metaphysics

Wayne Hanewicz

Wayne Hanewicz

Professor • Integrated Studies

hanewiwa@uvu.edu
LI-513 • 801-863-6364

Ph.D.  Classical Political Theory and Philosophy, University of Michigan
AOS:  Buddhist Studies, Psychoanalysis and Archetypes, Thinking and Consciousness Studies, Quantum Paradigm

Pierre Lamarche

Pierre Lamarche

Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

Pierre.Lamarche@uvu.edu
LA-109 801-863-8214

Ph.D. Philosophy, The University of Texas at Austin
AOS: Existential Phenomenology, Critical Theory, Post-structuralism, Marxism, History of Skepticism

Michael Minch

Michael Minch

Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

MMinch@uvu.edu
LA-121h • 801-863-7482

Ph.D. Program in Political Thought, University of Utah 
AOS: Political Philosophy, Democratic Theory, Peace and Justice, Moral Theory, and Christian Theology and Political Theory

Karen Mizell

Karen Mizell

Professor • Philosophy

Karen.Mizell@uvu.edu
CB-508q • 801-863-8758

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of Oklahoma 
AOS: Philosophy of Childhood, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Education, and Ethics

Shannon Mussett

Shannon Mussett

Professor • Philosophy

Shannon.Mussett@uvu.edu
CB-507f • 801-863-6264

Ph.D. Philosophy, Villanova University 
AOS: German Idealism, Existentialism, Feminist Theory and Psychoanalytic Theory

 

C. Thi Ngyuen

C. Thi Nguyen

Assistant • Professor Philosophy

CNguyen@uvu.edu
801-863-5490

PhD. Philosophy, University of California-Los Angeles

AOS: Epistemology

 

R. Dennis Potter

R. Dennis Potter

Associate Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

potterde@uvu.edu
LA-121m • 801-863-8817

M.A. Philosophy, Florida State University 
M.A. & A.B.D. Philosophy, University of Notre Dame 
AOS: Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics, Philosophy of Religion, and History of Analytic Philosophy

Michael Shaw

Michael Shaw

Associate Professor • Philosophy

shadmi@uvu.edu • LA-121p • 801-863-6265

Ph.D. Philosophy, Villanova University
AOS: Ancient Philosophy

Eric Stencil

Eric Stencil

Assistant Professor • Philosophy

Eric.Stencil@uvu.edu

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of Wisconsin-Madison
AOS: Early Modern Philosophy

 

Christine Weigel

Christine Weigel

Professor • Philosophy & Humanities

weigelch@uvu.edu
LA-121k 801-863-6191

Ph.D. Philosophy, Temple University
AOS: Metaphysics and Philosophy of Mind