Accredited Levels

"... certification from an accredited entity is a statement of success, an indisputable mark of performance belonging to individual fire service professionals. Each successful candidate for certification from an accredited entity knows that he or she has been measured against peers and meets rigorous national standards. Certification affords the individual a uniformity and portability of qualifications. In addition, the creditability of an organization is enhanced by having members certified to national consensus standards." -

Utah is accredited by the following agencies:

See the websites of each organization to learn more about the benefits of these accreditations.
Please note that IFSAC and ProBoard do not issue certifications. They are the agencies that accredit Utah certifications.


Certification Levels / Standards and Requirements



Firefighter I
Firefighter II
Hazardous Materials - Awareness & Operations
Hazardous Materials - Technician
Apparatus Driver Operator - Pumper
Apparatus Driver Operator - Aerial
Airport Firefighter
Fire Officer I 
Fire Officer II   
Fire Instructor I, II
Fire Inspector I, II, III (Fire Inspector III is not accredited by IFSAC or ProBoard.)
Fire Life & Safety Educator I & II  
Fire Investigator
Technical Rescuer- Ropes, Confined Space, Trench, Structural Collapse, Vehicle, Machinery
Wildland Firefighter I
Wildland Firefighter II