Having a file checked out means that you are the only person who can access, edit, and publish a page. This helps keep the file from being worked on by more than one person at once, and can prevent changes from inadvertently being lost.
When a file is checked out, there are more options available for making changes to that file. When a file is being edited, it is automatically checked out to the person who is editing it.
When you are finished working on a file, it is important to check it back in, in case others need to access the file.
A file is automatically checked in when it is published, but not when it is saved. Make sure that if you are finished working on a file, it is checked back in.
Watch the video to find out how to check files in and out.