Academic Affairs Leadership

 

Jeffery Olson

Jeffery E. Olson


Senior Vice President
Academic Affairs

801-863-8951
jolson@uvu.edu
David Connelly

David Connelly


Associate Vice President
Academic Programs

801-863-6832
David.Connelly@uvu.edu
Kathren Brown

Kathren Brown


Associate Vice President
Academic Administration

801-863-8517
kbrown@uvu.edu
Cheryl Hanewicz

Cheryl Hanewicz


Interim Associate Vice President
Engaged Learning

801-863-6539
Hanewich@uvu.edu
Jessica Gilmore

Jessica Gilmore


Associate Vice President
Community Outreach & Economic Development

801-863-7353
jessica.gilmore@uvu.edu

Academic Programs

Academic Programs oversees processes for the development, approval, and implementation of new programs of study that range from certificates to master’s degrees. We support departments in measuring student learning outcomes in existing programs to determine any needed adjustments in curriculum, pedagogy, or student support practices. We oversee a cyclical data-based program review process based on established criteria to inform decision-making and guide changes and resource requests.

To enhance teaching and learning, Academic Programs provides opportunities for the faculty to engage in new pedagogical approaches, particularly those involving technology. We provide expertise in the development and delivery of programs through technology-based delivery such as online, hybrid, and live interactive, and coordinate the offering of courses and programs at a variety of locations to serve the educational needs of UVU's region. We have specific oversight for general education and graduate study, and collaborate across campus on initiatives that support student completion of their programs of study.

Engaged Learning

Cheryl Hanewicz is interim associate vice-president engaged learning. Within the engaged portfolio are international and multicultural studies, internship services, academic service learning, institutional review board, sponsored programs, capitol reef field station, and the office of academic research.

 

Academic Affairs Office Personnel

Karen Cushing

Karen Cushing


Administrative Assistant to the Senior Vice President

801-863-8048
kcushing@uvu.edu
Julie Hayden

Julie Hayden


Administrative Assistant
Academic Administration

801-863-8700
JHayden@uvu.edu
Melinda Mower

Melinda Mower


Administrative Assistant
Engaged Learning

801-863-7181
melinda.mower@uvu.edu
Shauna Reher

Shauna Reher


Interim Administrative Assistant
Academic Programs

801-863-7348
Shauna.Reher@uvu.edu
Robyn Farnsworth

Robyn Farnsworth


Administrative Assistant
Community Outreach & Economic Development

801-863-7570
Robyn.Farnsworth@uvu.edu