About Us

Department Vision

Our Mission

The mission of the Department of Biology is two-fold: first, we are committed to educate students in the principle tenets of biology through structured inquiry and opportunities for individualized experiential learning. Second, we are committed to teaching ethical behavior in experimental design and practice to all of our students. The department strives to provide the best educational opportunities possible for students to attain their academic goals and to facilitate faculty in scholarship in an atmosphere that encourages free exchange of ideas.

Our Philosophy and Values

The Department of Biology believes that students and faculty have a shared responsibility to obtain knowledge. Faculty should maintain their expertise by ongoing investigation, presentation, and pursuit of scholarly activities. In addition to the pursuit of scholarly information in biology, students should develop skills in communication, analysis, and critical thinking relevant to biology and other disciplines.

Goals

The Department of Biology recognizes excellent student education as its first priority. In addition to formal programs of study, we offer opportunities for research, service, field and laboratory activities, and secondary education training.

Required courses provide an overview of biology, and electives allow you to concentrate in an area such a plant, human, field or laboratory oriented biology. You man explore topics not covered in courses through independent studies courses.

Faculty & Staff

Portrait of James V. Price

James V. Price

Professor: Department Chair

Genetics

pricejm@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7447 | SB 243e | MS: 299
Lana Korstanje

Lana Korstanje

Administrative Support

korstaal@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8511 | SB 243 | MS: 299
Virginia Bayer

Virginia Bayer

Associate Professor

Neurophysiology

bayervi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8605 | SB 242g | MS: 299
Mark Bracken

Mark Bracken

Associate Professor

Respiration &
Metabolism

Mark.Bracken@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8739 | SB 243a | MS: 299
James Bradshaw

James Bradshaw

Lecturer

bradshja@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6095 | SB 142a | MS: 299
Portrait of Lauren Brooks

Lauren Brooks

Assistant Professor

Microbiology

lauren.brooks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8511 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Portrait of Margaret Beucher

Margaret Beucher

Lecturer

margaret.beucher@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | SB 242b | MS: 299
Portrait of Paul Bybee

Paul Bybee

Professor

Vertebrate
Paleontology

bybeepa@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8802 | SB 242u | MS: 299
Portrait of Kristin de Nesnerar

Kristin de Nesnera

Assistant Professor

Intertidal Ecology
Biology Education

kdenesnera@uvu.edu%20

More Information

801.863.8084 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Portrait of Eric Domyan

Eric Domyan

Assistant Professor

Genetics

eric.domyan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5422 | SB 242v | MS: 299
Sam Doty

Sam Doty

Assistant Professor

 

SDoty@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.xxxx | Greenhouse | MS: 299
Portrait of Paul Dunn

Paul Dunn

Assistant Professor

Ecology

paul.dunn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5915 | SB 242x | MS: 299
Ashley Egan

Ashley Egan

Assistant Professor

 

AEgan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5466 | SB 270 | MS: 299
Portrait of Daniel Fairbank

Daniel Fairbanks

Professor

Genetics

daniel.fairbanks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6441 | SB 241h | MS: 299
Portrait of Sara Flood

Sara  Flood

Associate Professor

Anatomy

sara.flood@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5674 | SB 242w | MS: 299
Portrait of Michaela Gazdik Stofer

Michaela Gazdik Stofer

Associate Professor

Microbiology

gazdikmi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6908 | SB 242k | MS: 299
Portrait of Jim Harris

Jim Harris

Professor

Field Botany

JHarris@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8623 | SB 242r | MS: 299
Portrait of Jordan Hinkle

Jordan Hinkle

Teaching Lab Manager

jordan.hinkle

More Information

801.863.8623 | SB 242r | MS: 299
Portrait of Don Homan

Don Homan

Lab Manager

don.homan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6983 | SB 249 | MS: 299
Portrait of Colleen Hough

Colleen Hough

Associate Professor

Biotechnology

ColleenH@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243m | MS: 299
Portrait of Mark Huynh

Mark Huynh

Lecturer

Anatomy

Not Available

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243m | MS: 299
Summer Karafiath

Summer Karafiath

Lecturer

 

SummerK@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4704 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Portrait of Olga Kopp

Olga Kopp

Professor

Botany

koppol@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6259 | SB 243d | MS: 299
Portrait of Ruhul Kuddus

Ruhul Kuddus

Professor

Microbiology

kuddusru@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6260 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Alma Laney

Alma Laney

Assistant Professor

 

ALaney@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8520 | SB 243b | MS: 299
Portrait of Catherine Malone

Catherine Malone

Associate Professor

Conservation
Biology

catherine.malone@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6207 | SB 242n | MS: 299
Portrait of Mandy Marvel

Mandy Marvel

Lab Manager

mandy.marvel@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7552 | SB 057b | MS: 299
Portrait of Melissa Monk-Cavan

Melissa Monk-Cavan

Lab Manager

monkme@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6910 | SB 174 | MS: 299
Portrait of Joseph Mugleston

Joseph Mugleston

Lecturer

jmugleston@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8558 | SB 242m | MS: 299
Portrait of Heath Ogden

Heath Ogden

Associate Professor

Genetics
Entomology
Science Pedagogy

Heath.Ogden@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6909 | SB 242m | MS: 299
Josh Premo

Josh Premo

Assistant Professor

 

JPremo@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243k | MS: 299
Portrait of Erin Riggs

Erin Riggs

Herbarium Curator

Field Botany

Erin.Riggs@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6806 | SB 277 | MS: 299
Portrait of Robert Robbins

Robert Robbins

Professor

Plant Physiology

robbinro@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8336 | SB 242t | MS: 299
Portrait of Ken Slater

Ken Slater

Lab Manager

slaterke@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8673 | SB 050 | MS: 299
Portrait of Michael T. Stevens

Michael T. Stevens

Professor

Field Botany

Michael.Stevens@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5196 | SB 242z | MS: 299
Portrait of Janice Sugiyama

Janice Sugiyama

Director-Biotech NPCRO

Biotechnology

JaniceS@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5318 | SB 169 | MS: 299
Portrait of Sebastien Tauzin

Sebastien Tauzin

Assistant Professor

Cell Biology

sebastien.tauzin@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5675 | SB 242y | MS: 299
Portrait of Danielle Taylor

Danielle Taylor

Assistant Professor

Neurophysiology

danielle.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5747 | SB 158 | MS: 299
Portrait of Devin Taylor

Devin Taylor

Assistant Professor

Neurophysiology

devin.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5787 | SB 159 | MS: 299
Portrait of Wayne Whaley

Wayne Whaley

Professor

Indra Swallowtail
Butterfly

john.doe@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8607 | SB 242s | MS: 299
Portrait of Nick Wilbur

Nick Wilbur

Lab Manager

nwilbur@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5785 | SB 158 | MS: 299
Portrait of Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Professor

Science Pedagogy
Human Physiology

Heather.Ashworth@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7031 | SB 243f | MS: 299
Portrait of Scott Woodward

Scott Woodward

Lecturer

Genetics

swoodward@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5786 | SB 155 | MS: 299
Portrait of Ryan Walt

Ryan Wolt

Lecturer

 

More Information

801.863. | SB 243b | MS: 299
Portrait of Geoff Zahn

Geoff Zahn

Assistant Professor

Microbiology

gzahn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5676 | SB 243c | MS: 299