About Us

Chair Welcome

Welcome to the department of Biology at UVU! Our goal is to provide you with an engaging, exciting, and rewarding educational experience in an inclusive and supportive community. This is an exciting time to be a biologist! Advances in molecular biology and bioinformatics are leading to new insights in every field from ecology and evolution to genetics, cell biology, and microbiology. These diverse research areas provide information essential to addressing today’s challenges surrounding human, plant, animal and environmental health. Knowledge gained through the study of biology is being used to better understand and combat human, animal, and plant diseases. It is helping improve agricultural practices and develop new varieties of crops. Studies in ecology are providing knowledge about the health of our ecosystems and allowing us to address environmental sustainability, global climate change, and biodiversity conservation. Our degree programs provide the skills and knowledge necessary for you to tackle these challenges after graduation, as you join the workforce or further your study in graduate or professional programs. We look forward to guiding you as you work to accomplish your goals here at UVU!

Our Mission

The mission of the Biology Department is to create an engaged learning environment that promotes biological inquiry and the development of evidence based critical thinking skills.  The department provides educational and research opportunities that support students in accomplishing their goals for post-graduate education, professional careers, and becoming scientifically informed citizens. The department fosters engagement, collaboration, mentoring, and professional development for faculty, staff, and students.

About the Biology Department

The UVU Biology department has 26 tenured and tenure track faculty along with a variety of instructors working across diverse areas of biology. Our faculty strive to be strong and skilled educators who believe that faculty and students have a shared responsibility to create a safe and inclusive learning environment for everyone. We recognize excellent student education as our first priority and engage students in their learning through classroom, laboratory, field work, research, and service opportunities. Our faculty maintain active research programs across many biological subdisciplines, allowing them to mentor student researchers investigating a diversity of research questions. The department has four different bachelor’s degree programs: Biology, Biology Education, Biotechnology and Botany, along with an associate’s degree in Biology. Our graduates have gone on to professional careers in health-related fields, are employed in the private and public sector as biologists and research scientists, and work in the school systems as educators. Please explore our website to learn more about our Department and what we have to offer. For more information please contact the Biology Advisors.

Faculty & Staff

Michaela Gazdik Stofer

Michaela Gazdik Stofer

Associate Professor

Department Chair

Microbiology

gazdikmi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6908 | SB 242k | MS: 299
Lana Korstanje

Lana Korstanje

Administrative Support

korstaal@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8511 | SB 243 | MS: 299
Virginia Bayer

Virginia Bayer

Associate Professor

Neurophysiology

bayervi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8605 | SB 242g | MS: 299
Mark Bracken

Mark Bracken

Associate Professor

Respiration
Metabolism

Mark.Bracken@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8739 | SB 243a | MS: 299
James Bradshaw

James Bradshaw

Lecturer

 

bradshja@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6095 | SB 142a | MS: 299
Margaret Beucher

Margaret Beucher

Lecturer

 

margaret.beucher@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5983 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Lauren Brooks

Lauren Brooks

Assistant Professor

Microbiology

lauren.brooks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8479 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Paul Bybee

Paul Bybee

Professor

Vertebrate
Paleontology

bybeepa@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8802 | SB 242u | MS: 299
Kristin de Nesnera

Kristin de Nesnera

Assistant Professor

Intertidal Ecology
Biology Education

kdenesnera@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8084 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Eric Domyan

Eric Domyan

Assistant Professor

Genetics

eric.domyan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5422 | SB 242v | MS: 299
Sam Doty

Sam Doty

Teaching Lab Manager
Greenhouse Manager

 

sdoty@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | Greenhouse | MS: 299
Paul Dunn

Paul Dunn

Assistant Professor

Ecology

paul.dunn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5915 | SB 243e| MS: 299
Ashley Egan

Ashley Egan

Assistant Professor

 

AEgan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5466 | SB 270 | MS: 299
Daniel Fairbanks

Daniel Fairbanks

Professor

Genetics

daniel.fairbanks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6440 | BA 110 | MS: 299
Sarah Flood

Sarah Flood

Associate Professor

Anatomy

sara.flood@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5674 | SB 242w | MS: 299
Don Homan

Don Homan

Lab Manager

 

don.homan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6983 | SB 249 | MS: 299
Colleen Hough

Colleen Hough

Associate Professor

Biotechnology

colleenh@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243m | MS: 299
Mark Huynh

Mark Huynh

Lecturer

Anatomy


More Information

801.863. | SB 243R | MS: 299
Summer Karafiath

Summer Karafiath

Assistant Professor

 

SummerK@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4704 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Olga Kopp

Olga Kopp

Professor

Botany

koppol@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | SB 243d | MS: 299
Ruhul Kuddus

Ruhul Kuddus

Professor

Microbiology

kuddusru@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6260 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Alma Laney

Alma Laney

Assistant Professor

 

alaney@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8520 | SB 243b | MS: 299
Mandy Marvel

Mandy Marvel

Lab Manager

 

mandy.marvel@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7552 | SB 057b | MS: 299
Melissa Monk-Cavan

Melissa Monk-Cavan

Lab Manager

 

monkme@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6910 | SB 174 | MS: 299
Joseph Mugleston

Joseph Mugleston

Lecturer

 

jmugleston@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8558 | SB 242m | MS: 299
Heath Ogden

Heath Ogden

Associate Professor

Genetics
Entomology
Science Pedagogy

heath.ogden@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6909 | SB 242p | MS: 299
Josh Premo

Josh Premo

Assistant Professor

 

jpremo@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243k | MS: 299
Portrait of James V. Price

James V. Price

Professor

Genetics

pricejm@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7447 | SB 243e | MS: 299
Erin Riggs

Erin Riggs

Herbarium
Director-Curator

Field Botany

erin.riggs@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6806 | SB 277 | MS: 299
Ken Slater

Ken Slater

Lab Manager

 

slaterke@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8673 | SB 050 | MS: 299
Josh Snyder

Josh Snyder

Botany Lab Manager

 

JSnyder@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8695 | SB 274a | MS: 299
Michael T. Stevens

Michael T. Stevens

Professor

Plant Ecology
Science Education

michael.stevens@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5196 | SB 242z | MS: 299
Janice Sugiyama

Janice Sugiyama

Director-Biotech NPCRO

Biotechnology

janices@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5318 | SB 169 | MS: 299
Sebastien Tauzin

Sebastien Tauzin

Assistant Professor

Cell Biology

sebastien.tauzin@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5675 | SB 242y | MS: 299
Danielle Taylor

Danielle Taylor

Assistant Professor

Neurophysiology

danielle.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5747 | SB 158 | MS: 299
Devin Taylor

Devin Taylor

Assistant Professor

Neurophysiology

devin.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5787 | SB 159 | MS: 299
Wayne Whaley

Wayne Whaley

Professor

Indra Swallowtail
Butterfly

wwhaley@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8607 | SB 242s | MS: 299
Nick Wilbur

Nick Wilbur

Lab Manager

 

nwilbur@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5785 | SB 158 | MS: 299
Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Professor

Science Pedagogy
Human Physiology

heather.ashworth@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7031 | SB 243f | MS: 299
Scott Woodward

Scott Woodward

Lecturer

Genetics

swoodward@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5786 | SB 155 | MS: 299
Ryan Wolt

Ryan Wolt

Lecturer

 


More Information

801.863. | SB 243b | MS: 299
Geoff Zahn

Geoff Zahn

Assistant Professor

Microbiology

gzahn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5676 | SB 243c | MS: 299

Emeritus Faculty

Jim Harris

Jim Harris

Emeritus Professor

Field Botany

jharris@uvu.edu

Robert Robbins

Robert Robbins

Emeritus Professor

Plant Physiology

robbinro@uvu.edu