Research

Faculty Research

Lauren Brooks

Lauren Brooks

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Applied Microbiology,

Microbial Ecology
and Genomics,

Environmental Science

lauren.brooks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8479 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Kristin de Nesnera

Kristin de Nesnera

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Biology Education

 

kdenesnera@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8084 | SB 242b | MS: 299
Eric Domyan

Eric Domyan

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Genetics,

Evolution,
Vertebrate pigmentation

eric.domyan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5422 | SB 242v | MS: 299
Paul Dunn

Paul Dunn

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Ecology,
Marine Biology,
Invertebrate Zoology
Life Histories
Parasites

paul.dunn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5915 | SB 243e| MS: 299
Ashley Egan

Ashley Egan

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Evolutionary genetics
and genomics of plants,

Legume research,
Phylogenetics and
bioinformatics

AEgan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5466 | SB 270 | MS: 299
Daniel Fairbanks

Daniel Fairbanks

Professor

Research Areas
Genetics,
Evolution,
History of Science,
Art and Science

daniel.fairbanks@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6440 | BA 110 | MS: 299
Summer Karafiath

Summer Karafiath

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Chemotherapy induced
neuropathy,

Guillain-Barre syndrome,
Anatomy teaching
methodologies,

SummerK@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4704 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Olga Kopp

Olga Kopp

Professor

Research Areas
Microbial biofilms,
antimicrobial activity,
endophytes,
plant tissue culture,
endangered species

koppol@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | SB 243d | MS: 299
Ruhul Kuddus

Ruhul Kuddus

Professor

Research Areas
Cancer epidemiology,
bacterial multidrug
resistance,
 
techniques of 
content
delivery in
higher education

kuddusru@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6260 | SB 243q | MS: 299
Alma Laney

Alma Laney

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Discovery and
characteristic of new
non-mammalian viruses,

Interactions of
Plant Viruses, Hosts,
Arthropod Vectors

alaney@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8520 | SB 243b | MS: 299
Heath Ogden

Heath Ogden

Associate Professor

Research Areas
Evolution,
Entomology,
Mayfly Phylogenetics,
Pedagogy,
Bioinformatics

heath.ogden@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6909 | SB 242p | MS: 299
Josh Premo

Josh Premo

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Science Education,
Discourse Analysis,
Science Misconceptions,
Social Psychology of Education,

jpremo@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5197 | SB 243k | MS: 299
Erin Riggs

Erin Riggs

Research Areas
Phytogeographic floristic
investigation of Bear’s Ears,

Herbarium museum
conservation,

erin.riggs@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6806 | SB 277 | MS: 299
Michael Rotter

Michael Rotter

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Plant-animal Interactions,
Non-native Species,
Evolutionary Ecology

MRotter@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | SB 242c | MS: 299
Michael T. Stevens

Michael T. Stevens

Professor

Research Areas
Botany

michael.stevens@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5196 | SB 242z | MS: 299
Janice Sugiyama

Janice Sugiyama

Director-Biotech NPCRO

Research Areas
InnovaBio Contracted
Biotechnology Projects

janices@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5318 | SB 169 | MS: 299
Sebastien Tauzin

Sebastien Tauzin

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Cell Biology,
Inflammation,
Cancer,
Cell Migration

sebastien.tauzin@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5675 | SB 242y | MS: 299
Danielle Taylor

Danielle Taylor

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Neurophysiology
Pharmacology
Cancer
Learning and Memory

danielle.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5747 | SB 158 | MS: 299
Devin Taylor

Devin Taylor

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Neurophysiology
Drug Addiction

devin.taylor@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5787 | SB 159 | MS: 299
Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Heather Wilson-Ashworth

Professor

Research Areas
Science Education,
Student Success
and Retention,
Active Learning

heather.ashworth@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7031 | SB 243f | MS: 299
Brittney Wyatt

Brittney Wyatt

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Biology Education,
Inclusive Pedagogy,
Science identity
and undergraduate
research experiences,
Mentoring

More Information

801.863. | SB 242y | MS: 299
Geoff Zahn

Geoff Zahn

Assistant Professor

Research Areas
Mycology,
Microbial ecology,
Symbioses,
Biogeochemistry,
Bioinformatics

gzahn@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5676 | SB 243c | MS: 299

 

Mentored Research 

Get Started!

  1. Start early in your degree - maybe in your sophomore or junior year (many faculty will not bring on seniors into their research labs).
  2. Carefully study the faculty research members and their research areas. Click on the different links to explore the different professors and their research interests. 
  3. Choose a few faculty members whose research seems most appealing to you.
  4. Be proactive in investing time in studying the faculty’s research, journal articles, etc., and be prepared to ask questions and comment on his/her research.
  5. Contact the faculty member via email for more information about opportunities in thier lab and schedule a time to meet them. If they don't respond to an email/phone call, drop by their office!
  6. Many times, you will begin as a volunteer until you have gained enough experience to merit credit/pay.
  7. Once you have sufficient experience, you will be eligible for research credit (494R), for every 1 credit you wish to earn please plan on spending at least 3 hours per week. You also can work towards funding for research projects (for example: URSCA, TEELS, etc. and SAC)