Working copy

Page PDF

Automotive Technology



Automotive Technology


SA 325




Web Address:


Vern Hiatt


Mission Statement

The mission of the UVU Automotive Department is to conduct academic and applied teaching. The training programs provide qualified employees for entry level positions in all categories of the Automotive, Collision / Refinish, and Diesel repair technology industries. These programs will afford students the opportunity to attain a one, two, and/or four-year degree at the completion of their training. The training provided will have an emphasis on basic skills and principles which will allow participants to adapt to new and ever changing technologies. Current and foreseeable technology will be utilized in presenting and practicing basic performance skills.


College of Technology & Computing

  • Administrative Support: Katreena Davis
  • Office: SA 325
  • Telephone: 801-863-8349
  • Email:

  • Advisor:
    Carrie Peterson
  • Office: CS 635
  • Telephone: 801-863-7454
  • Email:

  • Dean:
    Michael Savoie
  • Office: CS 720
  • Telephone: 801-863-8321

Automotive Technology

  • Program Coordinator: Paul Bean
  • Office: SA 320
  • Telephone: 801-863-8243
  • Email:

Advisory Committee:

Dave Johnson, DJ Auto; Mel Fergerson, LKQ; Matt Hasara, Powerhouse Motorsports; Lenny Hall, Midas; Chet Milburn, O’Reilly; Eric Patten, EP Auto; Rory Henrie, Accelerated Services, LLC; JT Collette, Payson High School; Mike Powell, Torque Shop; Orrin Nelson, Community Member.


Collision Repair Technology

  • Program Coordinator: Terrance Orr
  • Office: SA
  • Telephone: 801-863-6335 or 801-863-8349
  • Email:

Advisory Committee:

Russel Nichols, Cascade Collision; Brian Nichols, Cascade Collision; Darrin Mitchell, Chief Automotive; Steve Whitlock, Whitlock Autobody; Cary Robarge, Robarge Collision; Shane Bowden, NCS Coatings; Sergio Martin, Martins Collision Repair.


Diesel Mechanics Technology

  • Program Coordinator: Dean Bohl
  • Office: SA 317c
  • Telephone: 801-863-8251 or 801-863-8349
  • Email:

Advisory Committee:

Terry Pollock, Wheeler Machinery; Rick Garcia, UTA; Dave Anderson, Geneva Rock Products; Mike Hanyon, Extreme Diesel; Cameron Kallas, United Diesel, Casey Muhlsetin, Burningham Trucking


Degrees & Programs