Landlord Tenant Law for Licensed Paralegal Practitioners

Man working at a desk

Program Highlights

  • Time Commitment: 20-hour course
  • Start Date: Continuous enrollment; last day for enrollment is Nov 30, 2020.
  • Days of the Week: Online, Self-paced
  • Hours a Week: Self-paced
  • Length of Program: 4 months
  • End Date: 4 months after registration
  • Online/Face-to-face: Online
Program Application

About

Planning to take the LPP Family Law Licensing Exam offered by the Utah State Bar? This course (in addition to the Ethical Rules for Licensed Paralegal Practitioners course) is a requirement to sit for the Landlord Tenant Law exam offered by the Utah State Bar. Course curriculum provides an overview of Utah's residential landlord-tenant law for property in Utah. Major topics include the Utah Fair Housing Act, Utah Fit Premises Act, Mobile Home Park Rights, and the Eviction Process. The course focuses on substantive law and forms & procedures approved for Limited License Paralegals practicing in Utah.

Tuition for this program is normally $260, but under the Learn & Work in Utah initiative, your tuition is covered in full so long as you complete the program in the allotted time. Take advantage of this no-cost opportunity to excel professionally and apply today.

What You Will Learn

  • Utah's residential landlord-tenant law for property
  • Utah Fair Housing Act
  • Utah Fit Premises Act
  • Mobile Home Park Rights
  • Eviction Processes

At the end of the course you will be able to sit for the Landlord Tenant Law Exam offered by the Utah State Bar.

Employment Outlook

The designation of a Licensed Paralegal Practitioner is a new designation in Utah and may provide new opportunities for existing paralegals to practice in new areas or with additional capacity.

Foundational Knowledge

While the Ethical Rules for Licensed Paralegal Practitioners course is open to all, please review the Utah State Bar requirements to sit for the Licensed Paralegal Practitioner exam, found here: https://www.utahbar.org/licensed-paralegal-practitioner/

Ideally, students will take this course shortly after completing 1500 hours as a paralegal (with 100 focused on landlord/tenant law) and shortly before taking the licensing exam.

Further Opportunities

Licensed Paralegal Practitioner, a new designation in Utah, can assist respondents with landlord/tenant issues.

Invest in your future and continue your education at UVU! As part of this program, you will have the opportunity to meet with UVU advisors and financial aid experts who can explain future options if you choose to continue past the end of your certification program.