David R. Keller Sustainability Prize


David R. Keller Prize
for Innovation in Sustainability

The Center for the Study of Ethics and the Office of New Urban Mechanics invites applications for its inaugural David R. Keller Prize for Innovation in Sustainability. The prize is an effort to recognize and support communities and social entrepreneurs working to advance sustainable practices in connection with our natural environment. The prize is awarded each year for exemplary innovation that improves the prospect of sustainable human development.

Why innovation?

It is widely accepted that our current relationship with the natural environment is unsustainable. Genuine and lasting sustainability will require dramatic breakthroughs in technology, public policy, research, business models, and human understanding. For this reason, the Keller Prize awards and recognizes innovation that supports the advancement of stable and productive environmental practices.

 Who is eligible?

Government entities, nonprofit organizations, and for-profit organizations that operate as social enterprises are eligible to apply. Special consideration will be given to projects and programs that directly affect ecosystems and locales within the State of Utah.


$5,000 will be awarded to assist in activities related to the product or project.



Applications will be reviewed by a committee of UVU faculty, staff, students, and community members with a demonstrated commitment to innovation and sustainability. Winning applications will be announced at the annual David R. Keller Environmental Ethics Symposium on March 18, 2015.


Deadline & Submission Information

The deadline for applications is March 15, 2015. Please send a complete application form to Susanna Garcia in the Center for the Study of Ethics at susanna.garcia@uvu.edu. Click here to download the application form.



In addition to specific application requirements, the following conditions apply:

  • Applicant organizations must operate primarily within the western United States.

  • Applicant organizations must be licensed as a nonprofit, governmental, quasi-governmental or for-profit institution at the time of submission. In addition to innovation, winning applications will demonstrate impact, creativity, leadership, and prospects for long-term success.