Our Mission

The mission of the Department of Exercise Science & Outdoor Recreation is consistent with the College´s mission in its commitment to providing students with professional, ethical, and exciting educational experiences through modern, effective pedagogical approaches. Baccalaureate programs (BS and BA) offered in Exercise Science and Outdoor Recreation (ESOR) with concentrations in Exercise Science (EXSC) and Outdoor Recreation Management (OREC) provide a broad discipline approach for optimal promotion of physical activity, recreation, fitness, health, wellness, and quality of life for all. These programs are complimented with opportunities for baccalaureate-level study in Integrated Studies with an area of emphasis in Exercise Science.  The curricula are balanced in theory and application and are specifically designed to provide students with experiential education that promotes leadership, teamwork, community service, values, diversity, and lifelong learning. To best serve our students, curricula have been designed to reflect current market demands. 

In addition to preparing students for varied employment opportunities, the programs are also designed to prepare students for graduate study in related fields.  Many graduates go on to attend graduate school in Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Exercise Physiology, Sport Psychology, Biomechanics, Strength and Conditioning, Physician’s Assistant programs, and Dental School and Medical School programs.  Department faculty work collaboratively and strive to support our students commitment to outstanding teaching, mentorship, service, and professional development.

Depending on the specific area of study, graduates from this program will possess exceptional knowledge and skills and will be prepared for employment in the following areas:

Exercise Science

  • Cardiac Rehabilitation
  • Strength and Conditioning
  • Athletic Training
  • Personal-Fitness Training
  • Health Professions
    • Physical Therapy
    • Occupational Therapy
  • Medicine
    • Medical Doctor
    • Physicians Assistant
    • Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Corporate wellness
  • Kinesiology
  • Biomechanics


Outdoor Recreation

  • Outdoor Leadership
  • Risk Management
  • Experiential Education
  • Commercial Recreation
  • Wilderness Therapy
  • Resource Management

Faculty & Staff

Andrew Creer

Andrew Creer

Professor: Department Chair

 

Exercise Physiology
Sports Nutrition

andrew.creer@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8608 | RL 151G | MS: 171
Corrin Doyl

Corrin Doyl

Administrative Support

CDoyl@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6318 | RL 147 | MS: 171
Portrait of Michael Bohne

Michael Bohne

Professor:
Associate Chair 

Biomechanics
Human Gait

michael.bohne@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8439 | RL 147k | MS: 171
Bret Boyer

Bret Boyer

Associate Professor

Physical Therapy
Modalities/Perception

bret.boyer@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7397 | RL 151c | MS: 171
Anthony Ciccone

Anthony Ciccone

Assistant Professor

Neuromuscular Physiology

aciccone@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5934 | RL 147d | MS: 171
Shane Draper

Shane Draper

Assistant Professor

Exercise Physiology

shaned@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5980 | RL 147m | MS: 171
Ellis Jensen

Ellis Jensen

Associate Professor

Biochemistry
Exercise Physiology
Metabolism

ellis.jensen@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7146 | RL 147e | MS: 171
Betsy Lindley

Betsy Lindley

Professor:
Associate Chair 

Outdoor Recreation

blindley@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6094 | RL 147g | MS: 171
M. Vinson Miner

M. Vinson Miner

Professor

Sports Psychology

minervi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7488 | RL147j | MS: 171
Robert Sawyer

Robert Sawyer

Associate Professor

Exercise Physiology
Strength & Conditioning

rsawyer@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7033 | RL147f | MS: 171
Jason Slack

Jason Slack

Associate Dean

Exercise Physiology 


jason.slack@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7488 | SB 241h | MS: 171
Tyler Standifird

Tyler Standifird

Assistant Professor

Biomechanics

tyler.standifird@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6282 | RL 151h | MS: 171
Garth Tino

Garth Tino

Outdoor Recreation
Program Risk Manager 

 

tinoga@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8256 | RL 147l | MS: 171
Laura Wheatley

Laura Wheatley

Lecturer

Exercise Physiology

laura.wheatley@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5779 | RL 151f | MS: 171
Scott Williams

Scott Williams

Associate Professor

Outdoor Recreation

swilliams@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6760 | RL 147h | MS: 171

Student Representatives

Portrait of Connor Dearden

Connor Dearden

UVUSA Student Senator

conner.dearden@uvu.edu

More Information

801.598.7749 | SL 122 |
Portrait of Nathan Jensen

Nathan Jensen

Exercise Science
and Outdoor Recreation
Student Representative

10659541@my.uvu.edu