## **Faculty Senate Minutes**

April 29, 2025: MS Teams, 3-5 PM

Laura Ricaldi (S) (E)

## Call to Order; Silent Roll Call (0 min.)

[session start time 3:00]

Richard Cho (S)

#### **Present:**

Ahmed Alsharif (S)

Senator (S), ExCo (E), Other Non-Voting Member (O), Designee (D)

Doug Czajka (S)

(-)		(	
Aicha Rochdi (E)	Douglas Gardner (E)	Laurie Toro (E)	Rick McDonald (S)
Alma Laney (S)	Dustin Shipp (S)	Maria Blevins (S)	Ron Miller (S)
Ben Moulton (E)	Erin Peeples (O)	Max Aeschbacher (S)	Sean Crossland (S) (E)
Chris Lindquist (S)	Evelyn Porter (E)	Merilee Larsen (S)	Shelton Weech (S)
Christopher Goslin (S)	Farzad Ahmadi (S)	Ming Yu (S)	Stephanie Dunn (S)
Dan Perry (S)	Kat Brown (E)	Nate Jeppson (S)	Tracy Sermon (S)
Deb Dowd (S)	Ken Adams (S)	Nicole Gearing (E)	Wayne Vaught (E)
Diego Alvarado Karste (S)	Kim Abunuwara (D)	Rich Paustenbaugh (E)	Wioleta Fedeczko (E)

## Absent/Excused:

Abdennour Seibi (S)	Ezgi Sertler (E)	Kevin Smith (S)	Nizhone Meza (E)
Alex Yuan (S)	Howard Fullmer (S)	Matt Flint (S)	Raiden Gaul (S)
Anthony Ciccone (S)	Ian Gotcher (E)	Matthew Duffin (S)	Sayeed Sajal (S)
Colleen Hough (S)	Jennifer Shubert (S) (E)	Maureen Andrade (S)	Summer Karafiath (S)
Dallas Smith (S)	John Newman (S)	Mel Gurr (S)	Terrance Orr (S)
Dan Sutliff (S)	Jonathan Allred (E)	Michaela Sawyer (S) (D)	Tyson Riskas (S)
Donna Fairbanks (S)	Joshua Fagan (S) (E)	Nichole Ortega (S)	

## Faculty Senate President, Wioleta Fedeczko

[3:00-3:15]

• Welcome & Social

## **Approval of Previous Minutes** (available in Faculty Senate teams/website)

Minutes stand approved

## **Student Affairs,** Wioleta Fedeczko, *Senate President*

[3:20-3:30]

- Intercultural Engagement Center Closure
  - Closed due to legislative issues regarding the way the center was established
  - Student Success Center will now handle the responsibilities of the closed centers (Women's Success Center, LGBTQ Center & Multicultural Center)
  - New Student Engagement Center is being planned for the fall
- False AI Claims in CopyLeaks
  - Software is reporting false positives
  - Resources shared to deal with the issues (see Announcements)

## Academic Affairs, Tiffany Evans, Sr. Director, Completion & Wayne Vaught, Provost

Proctorio Replacement

[3:30-3:35]

 Three potential replacements have been shortlisted, and demonstrations will be scheduled for faculty to provide feedback

- Goal is to have new system in place by fall 2025
- o Faculty members are encouraged to participate in the demonstrations and provide feedback
- Contact Tiffany Evans with any questions or to participate

## Tenure & Post-Tenure Review Updates

[3:35-3:40]

- This year, 100% of tenure cases were approved, and the first post-tenure review process went smoothly
- Faculty members who did not pass the post-tenure review will have performance improvement plans (PIPs) put in place

## Student Evaluations

[3:40-3:50]

- New system has seen a significant increase in participation
- Faculty expressed concerns about the frequency of notifications and timing of evaluations
- Team will consider these concerns for future improvements

## Faculty Senate Business, Evelyn Porter, Senate Vice President

[3:55-4:00]

Bylaws

## **VOTING RESULTS:**

30 agree, 0 disagree, 3 abstain

Senate Elections & Nominations

## **Policy**

• **Vote** [4:00-4:15]

- o Policy 306 Faculty Positions: Posting and Waiving of Posting (Kat Brown)
- o Policy 532 University Student Groups (Alexis Palmer)
- Policy 638 Post-Tenure Review (Kat Brown)

### **VOTING RESULTS:**

Policy 306: 28 agree, 0 disagree, 1 abstain; *if comments are addressed*Policy 532: 29 agree, 0 disagree, 1 abstain

Policy 638: 28 agree, 1 disagree, 0 abstain; if comments are addressed

## Policy Vote & Comment

[4:15-5:05]

- o 633/654 (*Kat Brown*)
- o Policy 633 Faculty Performance Evaluation & Feedback (limited scope revision)
- o Policy 654 Faculty Merit Pay (deletion)

#### **VOTING RESULTS:**

Policy 633: 26 agree, 1 disagree, 0 abstain; *if comments are addressed*Policy 654: 23 agree, 1 disagree, 2 abstain

## **Senate Election Results**

• Policy Liaison: Jennifer Shubert

Parliamentarian: David Connelly

- Advancement of Teaching & Learning Chair: Noelle Taylor
- Service & Elections Chair: Dave Morin

# AdjournMeeting ended at 5:15pm

[session end time 5:15]

Next Meeting: Tuesday, August 26, 3-5pm (Teams)

## **Announcements**

**CopyLeaks and AI:** CopyLeaks has been reporting false positives regarding AI generated content. More information is available on how faculty can best deal with the issue: <a href="https://www.uvu.edu/otl/tech/copyleaks.html">https://www.uvu.edu/otl/tech/copyleaks.html</a>

**Faculty Ombuds:** A reminder that faculty have access to our Faculty Ombuds, where you can have confidential conversations about concerns and recommendations to available resources (<a href="facultyombuds@uvu.edu">facultyombuds@uvu.edu</a>).

**Faculty Senate Input Form:** Faculty Senate now has an anonymous input <u>form</u> for faculty who have recommendations for Senate topics.

Due to budgetary limitations from HB 265, the **Online Teaching Academy (OTA) Certification** course will no longer be required to teach online, and no lump sum will be provided for completing it. However, ongoing professional development remains essential for quality online teaching. We strongly encourage faculty to participate in OTL's online teaching workshops and resources, which are designed to support effective, engaging instruction. We are currently updating these offerings, and as part of these changes, a new requirement will be added: all online instructors must complete a brief workshop on **Regular and Substantive Interactions (RSI)** to meet federal and accreditation standards. More information will be provided soon. If you have any questions, please reach out to OTL (otl@uvu.edu)