Department Retention, Tenure, and Promotion (RTP) Criteria

Faculty are evaluated for tenure and promotion at each level based on a thorough review of a portfolio submitted by the faculty member with respect to UVU policies and approved department criteria. 

Faculty members are evaluated for tenure in accordance with the approved department,

program, or school tenure criteria, and university policy in place at the time of hire. The department chair shall provide a copy of Policy 637 and the approved department-specific tenure criteria to each newly hired tenure-track faculty member within the first month after hire. Candidates for tenure may, upon their request and if approved by the department chair, dean, and Provost, be evaluated according to more recent tenure criteria, if the criteria are revised during their probationary period.

Tenured faculty members are evaluated for promotion in accordance with the approved department, program, or school rank advancement criteria, and university policy in place when they apply for promotion.

Currently approved department criteria for tenure and rank advancement (where available) can be found below. 

Access the historical database of previously approved criteria.

College of Health & Public Services

Department

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

 

 

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

      RTP chair/Email
Allied Health                         Temporary     Fall 2021

 

 

 

MeasomGA@uvu.edu

Criminal Justice                                       Stott.Harston@uvu.edu 
Emergency Services                                       MittelMA@uvu.edu 
Nursing                         Temporary     Fall 2021       MeasomGA@uvu.edu 
Physician Assistant                         Temporary     Fall 2021       Dianne.McAdams-Jones@uvu.edu 
Public & Community Health                                       Sarah.Hall@uvu.edu 

College of Humanities & Social Science

Department

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
Behavioral Science               Conditional Fall 2021

Barton.Poulson@uvu.edu

Communication               Conditional Fall 2021 Philip.Gordon@uvu.edu 
English & Literature               Fully Approved 2021-2022 Nathan.Gorelick@uvu.edu  
History               Temporary  Fall 2021 MGoode@uvu.edu 
Integrated Studies               Conditional Fall 2021 Kimberly.Abunuwara@uvu.edu 
Languages & Cultures               Temporary  Fall 2021 PackerJE@uvu.edu 
Philosophy & Humanities               Full Approved 2025-2026 WeigelCH@uvu.edu 
Political Science               Conditional Fall 2021 GCockerham@uvu.edu 

College of Science

Department

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
Biology Temporary Fall 2021 Michael.Stevens@uvu.edu 
Chemistry Temporary Fall 2021 Bruce.Wilson@uvu.edu 
Earth Science Temporary Fall 2021 Daniel.Stephen@uvu.edu  
Exercise Science & Outdoor Recreation Temporary Fall 2021 BLindley@uvu.edu 
Mathematics Fully Approved 2021-2022 Christine.Walker@uvu.edu 
Physics Temporary Fall 2021 Paul.Weber@uvu.edu 

College of Engineering & Technology

Department

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
Architecture and Engineering Design Conditional Fall 2021 PerryDL@uvu.edu 
Aviation Science Temporary Fall 2021 Stott.Harston@uvu.edu 
Computer Science Temporary Fall 2021 SanatiRE@uvu.edu 
Construction Management Temporary Fall 2021 Eric.Linfield@uvu.edu 
Culinary Arts Temporary Fall 2021 TLeonard@uvu.edu 
Digital Media Temporary Fall 2021 Rodayne.Esmay@uvu.edu 
Engineering Temporary Fall 2021 SanatiRe@uvu.edu 
Engineering Technology Temporary Fall 2021 PerryDL@uvu.edu 
Information Systems & Technology Conditional Fall 2021 JAnderson@uvu.edu 
Technology Management Conditional Fall 2021 Eric.Linfield@uvu.edu 
Transportation Technology     TLeonard@uvu.edu 

School of the Arts

Department

                              

 

 

 

 

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
Art & Design           Temporary Fall 2021 CYoung@uvu.edu 
Dance           Temporary Fall 2021 Amy.Markgraf@uvu.edu 
Music           Temporary Fall 2021 Hilary.Demske@uvu.edu 
Theatre           Temporary Fall 2021 LisaH@uvu.edu 

School of Education

Department

                           

 

 

 

 

 

 

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email                   
Education               Fully Approved 2023-2024 Mia.kang@uvu.edu

University College

Department

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
Developmental Math Temporary Fall 2021 MBrinkerhoff@uvu.edu 
English Language Learning     PetterJi@uvu.edu 
Literacies & Composition Temporary Fall 2021 Thomas.Henry@uvu.edu 
Student Leadership & Success Studies Fully Approved 2023-2024 JensenMi@uvu.edu 

Woodbury School of Business

Department

                              

 

 

Current Status

Full/Conditional/Temporary*

Next review and approval

cycle starts (year)

RTP chair/Email
School of Business       Conditional Fall 2021 Jeff.Peterson@uvu.edu 

 

* 1. Full approval—no further changes are needed at this time, your criteria will be posted on the Faculty Senate website, and you will enter the regular review rotation (see below).

2. Conditional approval—you are receiving temporary approval of the criteria you submitted for review, but some changes must be made during the 2021-2022 academic year to receive full approval.

3.Temporary current use—you may continue to use the criteria that is currently posted on the Faculty Senate website for the 2021-2022 academic year while you continue to improve your revised criteria.