The UVU Champions of Inclusion Award is designed to recognize UVU Students, Faculty, Staff, Departments, and Community partners who advance the core themes of Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity within the university. 

There are 6 award categories, which are:

Student Champion Award - An individual student or group of students. 

Faculty Champion Award - Any faculty member or instructor

Staff Champion Award - Any staff member or administrator

DepartmentAward - Any UVU Department, Unit, or Center  

EID Committee Award - Any EID Committee

Community Partner Award - Any groups on campus (student groups, committees, etc.)

Champions of Inclusion Awards 2023


Student Champions

Chapmion of Inclusion Priscilla Villaseñor-Navarro

Priscilla Villaseñor-Navarro

Presented by President Tuminez

Staff Champion

Champion of Inclusion Erin Riggs

                            Erin Riggs, Director-Curator of the UVU Herbarium

Presented by Daniel Delgadillo, PACE President

Department Champion

Champion of Inclusion School of Education

School of Education

Presented by Dr. Barney Nye, Associate Vice President of PK-19, Outreach, and Partnerships





Champion of Inclusion Hannah Filizola Ruiz

Hannah Filizola Ruiz

Presented by President Tuminez

Faculty Champion

Champion of Inclusion Stevie Munz

Dr. Stevie Munz, Associate Professor of Applied Communication

Presented by Provost Vaught

EID Committee Champion

Champion of Inclusion College of Science Inclusion Committee

College of Science Equity, Inclusion and Diversity Committee

Presented by Dr. Leandra Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Applied Communication

Previous Champions of Inclusion

2021 Champions of Inclusion

Student Champion

Arty Diaz

Staff Champions

Justin Marks

Deborah Marrott

Faculty Champion

Jeremy Sortore

Department Champions

Student Health Services - Mental Health Therapists

Community Partner Champions

Black Student Union Leadership

2020 Champions of Inclusion

Student Champion

Cristell Marcial

Staff Champions

Noemy Medina

Faculty Champion

Dr. Leandra Hernández

Department Champions

University College