Department Vision

The mission of the Department of Mathematics is to provide an innovative and supportive environment where students can develop a thorough understanding of and appreciation for the mathematical and statistical sciences. The department endeavors to empower students through the mastery of core content and the ability to apply their knowledge.

To this end, the department strives to provide quality instruction that builds a rigorous and comprehensive foundation for a diverse student body preparing to enter a variety of professions. In particular, the department is devoted to maintaining a strong undergraduate and graduate curriculum that provides a broad spectrum of courses in pure and applied mathematics, math education and statistics, in order to support

  •  Students fulfilling their quantitative literacy component of their undergraduate education. 

  • Students fulfilling the mathematical curriculum component of their majors. 

  •  Students majoring in mathematics or statistics who intend to utilize their disciplines in industry or graduate study.

  •  Students completing elementary and secondary mathematics teacher preparation programs.


Furthermore, the department aims to build an environment that supports research in pure and applied mathematics, math education, and statistics by facilitating and promoting the scholarly activities of its faculty and students.

Faculty & Staff

Portrait of Alan Parry

Alan Parry

Associate Professor
Department Chair

alan.parry@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8606 |    LA 121c    | MS: 261
Dallin Mansfield

Dallin Mansfield

Administrative Support

Dallin.Mansfield@uvu.edu

More Information

Microsoft
Teams

801.863.7081 | LA 109 | MS: 261
Mark Abramson

Mark Abramson

Associate Professor

 

mark.abramson@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7106 | LA 121u | MS: 261
Kathy Andrist

Kathy Andrist

Professor

 

kathy.andrist@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6309 | LA 109e | MS: 261
Harish Bhatt

Harish Bhatt

Assistant Professor

 

Harish.Bhatt@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | LA 121 | MS: 261
Debanjan Bhattacharjee

Debanjan Bhattacharjee

Associate Professor

 

debanjanb@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5414 | LA 121t | MS: 261
Joshua Fagan

Joshua Fagan

Assistant Professor

Mathematics Education

Joshua.Fagan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5506 | LA 012u | MS: 261
Vivienne Faurot

Vivienne Faurot

Associate Professor

 

faurotvi@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8680 | LA 121x | MS: 261
David Fearnley

David Fearnley

Professor

 

fearnlda@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7452 | LA 121q | MS: 261
Machiel van Frankenhuijsen

Machiel van Frankenhuijsen

Professor

 

vanframa@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8685 | LA 121f | MS: 261
Reinhard Franz

Reinhard Franz

Associate Professor

 

franzre@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7102 | LA 121d | MS: 261
Erik Heiny

Erik Heiny

Professor

 

erik.heiny@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6281 | LA 109d | MS: 261
Zach Hurdle

Zach Hurdle

Assistant Professor

 

ZHurdle@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8662 | LA 121x | MS: 261
Mohammad Islam

Mohammad Islam

Assistant Professor

 

mislam@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6430 | LA 121r | MS: 261
Xiaoyi Ji

Xiaoyi Ji

Associate Professor

 

xiaoyi.ji@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6057 | LA 121v | MS: 261
John Kidd

John Kidd

Assistant Professor

Statistics

JKidd@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6431 | LA 121e | MS: 261
KC Lee

KC Lee

Lecturer

 

leekc@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8803 | LA 120 | MS: 261
Scott Lewis

Scott Lewis

Professor

 

lewissc@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6271 | LA 121p | MS: 261
Ya Li

Ya Li

Professor

 

liya@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8046 | LA 121g | MS: 261
Jun Ling

Jun Ling

Professor

 

lingju@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6056 | LA 109c | MS: 261
Patrick Ling

Patrick Ling

Assistant Professor

Actuarial Program Director

Patrick.Ling@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8591 | LA 121c | MS: 261
Wiktor Mogilski

Wiktor Mogilski

Assistant Professor

 

wiktor.mogilski@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8645 | LA 012u | MS: 261
Bob Palais

Bob Palais

Professor

 

bob.palais@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5412 | LA 121h | MS: 261
Kenyon Platt

Kenyon Platt

Teaching lab manager

 

KPlatt@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8625 | RL 151d | MS: 261
Matthew Potter

Matthew Potter

Lecturer

 

MPotter@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6432 | LA 121a | MS: 261
Skyler Simmons

Skyler Simmons

Assistant Professor

 

skyler.simmons@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5398 | LA 012u | MS: 261
Joe Simons

Joe Simons

Lecturer

 

joe.simons@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5525 | LA 121b | MS: 261
Violeta Vasilevska

Violeta Vasilevska

Professor

 

violeta.vasilevska@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8649 | LA 121j | MS: 261
Christine Walker

Christine Walker

Professor

 

christine.walker@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8634 | LA 121k | MS: 261
Debra Ward

Debra Ward

Assistant Professor

 

debra.ward@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8730 | LA 012k | MS: 261
Yingxian Zhu

Yingxian Zhu

Associate Professor

 

zhuy@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7451 | LA 109f | MS: 261