Our Mission

The Museum enhances the University’s academic mission and furthers the appreciation and enjoyment of the visual arts for the general public by fostering critical thinking and visual literacy through the interdisciplinary exploration of art, ideas, and experience.

To realize our mission we:

Engage

  • Audiences through shared experiences with art.
  • Community organizations to create a stronger sense of place through art.
  • Current and future patrons of the arts in Utah County and beyond.
  • Diverse audiences, including: Students and faculty, the broader University community, the local community, the State of Utah, and the arts and cultural community,

Inspire

  • Arts learning through exhibitions, programs, and teaching
  • Interdisciplinary partnerships that embrace our role as a university and a community art museum.
  • Progressive art education programming for the public of all ages through collaborative programming and exhibitions.

Champion

  • Excellence in visual arts research, teaching, interpretation, exhibition, and programming.
  • Exhibition, interpretation, and creation of artwork as a means of raising awareness about social, political, economic, and environmental issues facing our society.
  • Development and preservation of collections in accordance with museum standards and best practices.

Museum Staff

 
Portrait of Lisa Anderson

Lisa Anerson

Director / Curator

LAnderson@uvu.edu

801.863.6743 | MS: 256
 
Portrait of Jessica Kramer

Jessica Kramer

Registrar

JKramer@uvu.edu

801.863.6740 | MS: 256
Portrait of Raquel Gibson

Raquel Gibson

Assistant REGISTRAR

RGibson@uvu.edu

801.863.6470 | MS: 256
Portrait of Kenshi Westover

Kenshi Westover

GRAPHICS

KWestover@uvu.edu

801.863.6741 | MS: 256
Portrait of Makenzie Hall

Makenzie Hall

Visitor Services coordinator

MHall@uvu.edu

801.863.4200   |   MS: 256
Portrait of Lisa Jensen

Lisa Jensen

Staff

Lisa.Jensen@uvu.edu
801.863.4200   |   MS: 256
Portrait of Taylor Wright

Taylor Wright

STAFF

Taylor.Wright@uvu.edu
801.863.4200   |   MS: 256

 

History

The Woodbury Museum of Art exists out of the generosity of Orin and Wally Woodbury. Their gracious donation of funds sought to create an art museum for the campus of Utah Valley University. The museum has been in operation since 2002.

Since it’s inception, the museum has collected over 600 works of art and has accrued five named collections. Together, these works create the Permanent Collection and are displayed periodically on a rotating timeline. As a publicly focused department of Utah Valley University, the museum involves artists, local stakeholders, new audiences, students and faculty in arts learning exhibitions and programs.

We're Moving!

Entrance to the new museum

Visit the Estate