Humanities Faculty

Regular Faculty

Scott Abbott

Scott Abbott

Professor • Humanities, Integrated Studies, Philosophy

scott.abbott@uvu.edu
CB 311E • 801-863-8537

Ph.D. German Literature, Princeton University

AOS: German Romanticism, Literature and Philosophy 

Kim Abunuwara

Kim Abunuwara

Associate Professor • Humanities, Integrated Studies

Program Director • Humanities

kim@abunuwara.com
CB 311E • 801-863-6266

Ph.D. Theatre & Film, Brigham Young University

AOS: Theatre, Performance Studies, Divinity in the Arts

Alex Caldiero

Alex Caldiero

Senior Artist in Residence • Humanities

acaldiero@uvu.edu
CB 211B • 801-863-8038

Queens College, City University of New York

AOS: Poetry, Intermedia, History of the Avant-Gardes.

Michaela Giesenkirchen-Sawyer

Michaela Giesenkirchen-Sawyer

Associate Professor • Humanities

giesenmi@uvu.edu
CB 211F • 801-863-6304

Ph.D. English, Washington University

AOS: American Modernist Literature, Gertrude Stein, Intersection of Literature, Film, Music, and Art with Science and Philosophy.

alexandra karl

Alexandra Karl

Lecturer • Humanities

akarl@uvu.edu
CB 211D • 801-863-6304

Ph.D. History of Art, University of Cambridge

AOS: Darwinism in Art, Contemporary Art (Utah and International), Criticism, Museums.

Samuel Liang

Samuel Liang

Associate Professor • Chinese Studies, Humanities

sliang@uvu.edu
CB 211E • 801-863-6266

Ph.D. Art History, Binghamton University—SUNY

AOS: Modern Architecture & Urbanism, Chinese Cultural Studies, Chinese Art History, Theories of Modernity, Postcolonial Cities.

Leslie Simon

Leslie Simon

Associate Professor • Humanities

Chair • Department of Philosophy & Humanities

lsimon@uvu.edu
CB 507B • 801-863-8128

Ph.D. English Literature, Boston University

AOS: 19th Century Literature and Culture, Relation of Literature to Mathematics, Structures of Narrative, The Rise of the Novel.