Philosophy Faculty

Regular Faculty

Scott Abbott

Scott Abbott

Professor • Humanities, Integrated Studies, Philosophy

scott.abbott@uvu.edu
CB 311E • 801-863-8537

Ph.D. German Literature, Princeton University

AOS: German Romanticism, Literature and Philosophy

Thomas Bretz

Thomas Bretz

Assistant Professor • Philosophy

tbretz@uvu.edu
CB 507J • 801-863-8775

Ph.D. Philosophy, Loyola University Chicago

AOS: Environmental Philosophy, Phenomenology, Deconstruction

Brian Birch

Brian Birch

Professor • Philosophy

Director • Center for the Study of Ethics, Religious Studies Program

brian.birch@uvu.edu
CB 411H • 801-863-6363

Ph.D. Philosophy of Religion and Theology, Claremont Graduate University

AOS: Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Wittgenstein, Epistemology

Elaine Englehardt

Elaine Englehardt

Distinguished Professor • Ethics

Professor • Philosophy

elainee@uvu.edu
CB 411C • 801-863-6464

Ph.D. Communication/Philosophy, University of Utah

Olsen Senior Fellow in Ethics, University of Virginia, Darden Graduate School of Business

AOS: Ethics, Moral Theory, Professional and Practical Ethics, Business Ethics, Media Ethics, Engineering Ethics

Laura Guerrero

Laura Guerrero

Assistant Professor • Philosophy

laura.guerrero@uvu.edu
CB 507P • 801-863-7315

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of New Mexico

AOS: Buddhist Philosophy, Classical Indian Philosophy, Epistemology, Metaphysics

Wayne Hanewicz

Wayne Hanewicz

Professor • Integrated Studies, Philosophy

hanewiwa@uvu.edu
CB 311H • 801-863-6343

Ph.D. Classical Political Theory and Philosophy, University of Michigan

AOS:  Buddhist Studies, Psychoanalysis and Archetypes, Thinking and Consciousness Studies, Quantum Paradigm

Jorgen Hansen

Jorgen Hansen

Lecturer • Philosophy

jorgen.hansen@uvu.edu
CB 507G • 801-863-5673

M.A. Philosophy, University of California, Riverside

Pierre Lamarche

Pierre Lamarche

Professor • Philosophy

pierre.lamarche@uvu.edu
CB 508 • 801-863-8214

Ph.D. Philosophy, The University of Texas at Austin

AOS: Existential Phenomenology, Critical Theory, Post-Structuralism, Marxism, History of Skepticism

Michael Minch

Michael Minch

Professor • Philosophy

Director • SUMMIT: The Sustainable Mountain Development & Conflict Transformation Global Knowledge & Action Network

mminch@uvu.edu
CB 507N • 801-863-7482

Ph.D. Program in Political Thought, University of Utah 

AOS: Political Philosophy, Democratic Theory, Peace and Justice, Political Ecology, Christian Theology and Political Theory

Karen Mizell

Karen Mizell

Professor • Philosophy

karen.mizell@uvu.edu
CB 507Q • 801-863-8758

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of Oklahoma

AOS: Philosophy of Childhood, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Education, Ethics

 

Shannon Mussett

Shannon Mussett

Professor • Philosophy

Associate Chair • Department of Philosophy & Humanities

shannon.mussett@uvu.edu
CB 507F • 801-863-6264

Ph.D. Philosophy, Villanova University 

AOS: Existentialism, Feminism, German Idealism

 

C. Thi Ngyuen

C. Thi Nguyen

Associate Professor • Philosophy

cnguyen@uvu.edu
CB 507M • 801-863-5490

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of California–Los Angeles

AOS: Epistemology

Jeffrey Nielsen

Jeffrey Nielsen

Lecturer • Philosophy

nielsjef@uvu.edu
CB 508B • 801-863-8717

Ph.D. Philosophy, Boston College

AOS: Philosophy of Religion, Ethics

Kelli Potter

Kelli D. Potter

Associate Professor • Philosophy

kelli.potter@uvu.edu
CB 507D • 801-863-8817

M.A. & A.B.D. Philosophy, University of Notre Dame

M.A. Philosophy, Florida State University 

AOS: Philosophy of Religion, History of Analytic Philosophy

 

Michael Shaw

Michael Shaw

Professor • Philosophy

michael.shaw@uvu.edu
CB 507C • 801-863-6265

Ph.D. Philosophy, Villanova University

AOS: Ancient Philosophy

Eric Stencil

Eric Stencil

Associate Professor • Philosophy

eric.stencil@uvu.edu
CB 507H • 801-863-5489

Ph.D. Philosophy, University of Wisconsin-Madison

AOS: Early Modern Philosophy

Christine Weigel

Christine Weigel

Professor • Philosophy

weigelch@uvu.edu
CB 507K • 801-863-6191

Ph.D. Philosophy, Temple University

AOS: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind