Department Vision


The whole universe is a fair topic for study in physics. No facet is too small or too large to be considered. Physics is the assembly and application of the rational rules by which nature operates. Every action is played out according to its rules. Physics is the foundation for all other sciences. Physics pervades our lives. The heating, lighting, plumbing, kitchen, computer, communication and entertainment facilities found in our home, the engines, the drive trains and electronics in our vehicles are all possible because of the systematic application of the laws of physics-new.

Humanity has always struggled to improve its understanding of the environment and to cope with environmental changes and problems. Physics has always been at the forefront of finding solutions to these concerns. The more technical our world becomes, the more critical our concerns with our environment becomes. When the environmental and engineering problems of today are solved, and when improvements to the technology of our day are made, it will be physicists who will have found many, if not most, of those solutions.

"Major in physics if you are truly interested in understanding how things work and if you are interested in creating technology innovations."
- Jeffery Spaleta, 1998, Worchester Polytechnic Institute alumnus

"All science is either physics or stamp collecting."
- Ernest Rutherford

Faculty & Staff

Joseph Jensen

Joseph Jensen

Professor: Department Chair

Astronomy

jjensen@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8666 | PS 207 | MS: 179
Brandi Pacchiega

Brandi Pacchiega

Administrative Support

BPacchiega@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6964 | PS REC | MS: 179
Bonnie Anderson

Bonnie Andersen

Professor

Acoustics

bonniem@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6839 | PS 227 | MS: 179
Christian Draper

Christian Draper

Assistant Professor

Astronomy

1054507@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5198 | PS 203b | MS: 179
Dallin Durfee

Dallin Durfee

Professor

Optics
Atomic Physics

dallin.durfee@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4690 | PS 212c | MS: 179
Karl Haisch

Karl Haisch

Professor

Astronomy

karl.haisch@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6473 | PS 205 | MS: 179
Vern Hart

Vern Hart

Associate Professor

Medical Physics
Tomography

vhart@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7017 |   PS 203d   | MS: 179
Maureen Hintz

Maureen Hintz

Lecturer

 

HINTZMA@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5694 | PS 203a | MS: 179
Portrait of Daniel James

Daniel James

Assistant Professor

Microfluidics and X-ray
free-eletron lasers

daniel.james@uvu.edu

801.863.7497 | PS 009f | MS: 179
Portrait of Joshua Lothringer

Joshua Lothringer

Assistant Professor

Exoplanets,
Brown Dwarfs,
Stars

jlothringer@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5694 | PS 208 | MS: 179
Portrait of Phil Matheson

Phil Matheson

Professor

Plasma Physics

Phil.Matheson@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7161 | PS 006a | MS: 179
Kim Nielsen

Kim Nielsen

Associate Professor

Aeronomy
Cosmic Rays

kim.nielsen@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8960 | PS 225 | MS: 179
Alex Panin

Alex Panin

Teaching Lab Manager

 

paninal@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8543 | PS 009d | MS: 179
Brian Patchett

Brian Patchett

Lab Manager

 

brian.patchett@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6922 | PS 003c | MS: 179
John Powell

John Powell

Lecturer

Astronomy

john.powell@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6921 | PS 202e | MS: 179
Dustin Shipp

Dustin Shipp

Assistant Professor

Optics
Medical Physics

dustin.shipp@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5410 | PS 209 | MS: 179
Cyrril Slezak

Cyrill Slezak

Professor

Computational Physics
Shock Waves

cslezak@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6205 | PS 203c | MS: 179
Steven Wasserbaech

Steven Wasserbaech

Professor

Particle Physics
Optics

wasserst@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7498 | PS 228 | MS: 179
Paul Weber

Paul Weber

Associate Professor

Thin Films
Nanotechnology

paul.weber@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8692 | PS 211 | MS: 179
York Young

York Young

Assistant Professor

 

York Young

More Information

801.863.8633 | PS 212e | MS: 179