Department Vision

"Major in physics if you are truly interested in understanding how things work and if you are interested in creating technology innovations."
- Jeffery Spaleta, 1998, Worchester Polytechnic Institute alumnus

"All science is either physics or stamp collecting."
- Ernest Rutherford

The whole universe is a fair topic for study in physics-new. No facet is too small or too large to be considered. Physics is the assembly and application of the rational rules by which nature operates. Every action is played out according to its rules. Physics is the foundation for all other sciences. Physics pervades our lives. The heating, lighting, plumbing, kitchen, computer, communication and entertainment facilities found in our home, the engines, the drive trains and electronics in our vehicles are all possible because of the systematic application of the laws of physics-new.

Humanity has always struggled to improve its understanding of the environment and to cope with environmental changes and problems. Physics has always been at the forefront of finding solutions to these concerns. The more technical our world becomes, the more critical our concerns with our environment becomes. When the environmental and engineering problems of today are solved, and when improvements to the technology of our day are made, it will be physicists who will have found many, if not most, of those solutions.

Faculty & Staff

Portrait of Phil Matheson

Phil Matheson

Professor: Department Chair

Plasma Physics

Phil.Matheson@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7161 | PS 207 | MS: 179
Brandi Pacchiega

Brandi Pacchiega

Administrative Support

BPacchiega@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6964 | PS REC | MS: 179
Bonnie Anderson

Bonnie Anderson

Associate Professor

Acoustics

BonnieM@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6839 | PS 227 | MS: 171
Christian Draper

Christian Draper

Lecturer

Astronomy

10547507@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5198 | PS 009e | MS: 171
Dallin Durfee

Dallin Durfee

Assistant Professor

Optics

Dallin.Durfee@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4690 | PS 212c | MS: 171
Karl Haisch

Karl Haisch

Professor

Astronomy

Karl.Haisch@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6473 | PS 205 | MS: 171
Vern Hart

Vern Hart

Assistant Professor

Medical Physics
Tomography

vhart@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7017 | SB 243q | MS: 171
Thomas Henage

Thomas Henage

Lecturer

 

THenage@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.4693 | PS 202b | MS: 179
Joseph Jensen

Joseph Jensen

Professor

Astronomy

jjensen@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8666 | PS 203c | MS: 171
Paul Mills

Paul Mills

Professor

Historical Astronomy

millspa@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8633 | PS 212e | MS: 171
Kim Nielsen

Kim Nielsen

Assistant Professor

Aeronomy
Cosmic Rays

Kim.Nielsen@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8960 | PS 209 | MS: 171
Alex Panin

Alex Panin

Lecturer

paninal@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8543 | PS 003a | MS: 171
Brian Patchett

Brian Patchett

Lab Manager
Professor

Brian.Patchett@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6922 | PS 003c | MS: 171
Ray Perkins

Ray Perkins

Assistant Professor

Applied Physics

raymond.perkins@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7497 | PS 009f | MS: 171
John Powell

John Powell

Lecturer

Astronomy

John.Powell@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6921 | PS 202e | MS: 171
Portrait of Jackie Radigan

Jackie Radigan

Assistant Professor

Astronomy

jradigan@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.5694 | SB 242b | MS: 171
Portrait of Dustin Shipp

Dustin Shipp

Assistant Professor

Optics
Medical Physics

dustin.shipp@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863. | PS 209 | MS: 171
Portrait of Cyrril Slezak

Cyrril Slezak

Assistant Professor

Computational Physics
Shock Waves

cslezak@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.6205 | PS 212c | MS: 171
Portrait of Steven Wasserbaech

Steven Wasserbaech

Professor

Particle Physics
Optics

wasserst@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.7498 | PS 228 | MS: 171
Portrait of Paul Weber

Paul Weber

Professor

Thin Films
Nanotechnology

Paul.Weber@uvu.edu

More Information

801.863.8692 | PS 211 | MS: 171