Research

Faculty Research

Portrait of Bonnie Anderson

Bonnie Anderson

Professor

BonnieM@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Acoustics,
Thermoacoustics

Christian Draper

Christian Draper

Assistant Professor

drapechr@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Dwarf galaxies,
Cosmic voids,
Dark matter

Dallin Durfee

Dallin Durfee

Professor

dallin.durfee@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Optics,
Atomic Physics,
Lensless imaging

Portrait of Karl Haisch Jr.

Karl Haisch Jr.

Professor

Karl.Haisch@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Brown Dwarfs,
Young stellar o
bjects

Portrait of Vern Hart

Vern Hart

Assistant Professor

vhart@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Sparse Tomography,
Medical Imaging,
Cellular Scattering,
Machine Learning

Portrait of Joe Jensen

Joe Jensen

Professor

jjensen@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Extragalactic
distance scale,
stellar populations,
cosmology

Portrait of Joshua Lothringer

Joshua Lothringer

Assistant Professor

jlothringer@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Exoplanets, Brown Dwarfs, Stars

Portrait of Phil Matheson

Phil Matheson

Professor

Phil.Matheson@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Plasma Physics,
Perturbed angular
correlation to
characterize defects in
solid materials

Portrait of Kim Nielsen

Kim Nielsen

Associate Professor

Kim.Nielsen@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Atmospheric Physics,
Gravity Waves

Portrait of Alex Panin

Alex Panin

Lab Manager/Instructor

paninal@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Laser Physics,
Plasma Physics,
General Relativity

Portrait of John Powell

John Powell

Lecturer

John.Powell@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Stellar evolution,
Stellar populations
Yellow giant stars

Dustin Shipp

Dustin Shipp

Assistant Professor

dustin.shipp@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Biomedical optics,
Raman spectroscopy,
Physics education

Portrait of Cyrill Slezak

Cyrill Slezak

Professor

cslezak@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Computational Physics,
Biophysics,
Physics education

Portrait of Steve Wasserbaech

Steve Wasserbaech

Professor

wasserst@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Particle physics

Portrait of Paul Weber

Paul Weber

Associate Professor

Paul.Weber@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Particle Physics,
Solid State Physics,
Device fabrication,
Nanotechnology

York Young

York Young

Assistant Professor

york.young@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Optics,
Photonics,
Laser physics

 

Mentored Research 

Get Started!

  1. Start early in your degree - maybe in your sophomore or junior year (many faculty will not bring on seniors into their research labs).
  2. Carefully study the faculty research members and their research areas. Click on the different links to explore the different professors and their research interests. 
  3. Choose a few faculty members whose research seems most appealing to you.
  4. Be proactive in investing time in studying the faculty’s research, journal articles, etc., and be prepared to ask questions and comment on his/her research.
  5. Contact the faculty member via email for more information about opportunities in thier lab and schedule a time to meet them. If they don't respond to an email/phone call, drop by their office!
  6. Many times, you will begin as a volunteer until you have gained enough experience to merit credit/pay.
  7. Once you have sufficient experience, you will be eligible for research credit (494R), for every 1 credit you wish to earn please plan on spending at least 3 hours per week. You also can work towards funding for research projects (for example:  URSCA, TEELS, etc.  and  SAC )