Research

Faculty Research

Portrait of Bonnie Anderson

Bonnie Anderson

Associate Professor

BonnieM@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Acoustics,
Thermoacoustics

801.863.6839 | PS 227 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Karl Haisch Jr.

Karl Haisch Jr.

Professor

Karl.Haisch@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Infrared studies of
young stellar
objects

801.863.6473 | PS 205 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Vern Hart

Vern Hart

Assistant Professor

vhart@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Sparse Tomography,
Medical Imaging,
Cellular Scattering,
Machine Learning

801.863.5409 | PS 208 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Joe Jensen

Joe Jensen

Professor

jjensen@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Brightness fluctuations
of distant galaxies to
determine cosic distances

801.863.5409 | PS 208 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Phil Matheson

Phil Matheson

Professor

Phil.Matheson@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Perturbed angular
correlation to
characterize defects in
solid materials

801.863.5981 | SB 063 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Paul Mills

Paul Mills

Professor

millspa@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Optics
Historical astronomy

801.863.6204 | PS 211b | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Kim Nielsen

Kim Nielsen

Assistant Professor

Kim.Nielsen@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Gravity waves,
Air glow

801.863.5713 | SB 243p | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Alex Panin

Alex Panin

Lecturer

paninal@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Plasma physics 

801.863.5443 | PS 212a | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Ray Perkins

Ray Perkins

Assistant Professor

raymond.perkins@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Instrumentation

801.863.6486 | PS 211a | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of John Powell

John Powell

Lecturer

John.Powell@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Astrophysics
Stellar populations
Yellow giant stars

801.863.6204 | PS 212 | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Cyrill Slezak

Cyrill Slezak

Assistant Professor

cslezak@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Physics education

801.863.6486 | PS 211a | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Steve Wasserbaech

Steve Wasserbaech

Professor

wasserst@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Particle physics

801.863.5443 | SB 243g | MS: 179 Learn more
Portrait of Paul Weber

Paul Weber

Professor

Paul.Weber@uvu.edu

Research Areas
Solid state physics,
Device fabrication,
Nanotechnology

801.863.6204 | PS 202d | MS: 179 Learn more

 

Mentored Research 

Get Started!

  1. Start early in your degree - maybe in your sophomore or junior year (many faculty will not bring on seniors into their research labs).
  2. Carefully study the faculty research members and their research areas. Click on the different links to explore the different professors and their research interests. 
  3. Choose a few faculty members whose research seems most appealing to you.
  4. Be proactive in investing time in studying the faculty’s research, journal articles, etc., and be prepared to ask questions and comment on his/her research.
  5. Contact the faculty member via email for more information about opportunities in thier lab and schedule a time to meet them. If they don't respond to an email/phone call, drop by their office!
  6. Many times, you will begin as a volunteer until you have gained enough experience to merit credit/pay.
  7. Once you have sufficient experience, you will be eligible for research credit (494R), for every 1 credit you wish to earn please plan on spending at least 3 hours per week. You also can work towards funding for research projects (for example:  URSCA, TEELS, etc.  and  SAC )