President Tuminez

President's Council issues statement on new UVU president

As members of the university’s senior administration, we are delighted that the Utah System of Higher Education and the State Board of Regents have selected Dr. Astrid S. Tuminez as the seventh president of UVU. We thank the Utah State Board of Regents, the UVU Board of Trustees, the Presidential Search Committee, and all who actively engaged in the search process.   


We acknowledge and note our sincere appreciation to President Matthew S. Holland for his leadership over the last nine years, helping us advance our institutional mission and focus on student success.  His effective tenure was rooted in the great works of his predecessors and supported by those of our faculty and staff. 


We invite all to join us in welcoming President-elect Dr. Astrid S. Tuminez to Utah Valley University. Under Dr. Tuminez’s leadership, we will collectively continue to advance the mission of this great institution and ensure every UVU student has the opportunity to succeed.



UVU President’s Council


Jeffery E. Olson, Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs

Val Peterson, Vice President, Finance and Administration

Linda Makin, Vice President, Planning, Budget and Human Resources

Cameron Martin, Vice President, University Relations

Scott Cooksey, Vice President Development & Alumni

Kyle Reyes, Vice President, Student Affairs

Rob Smith, Student Body President

Craig Thulin, President, Faculty Senate

Shalece Nuttall, President, PACE

Mark Wiesenberg, Associate Vice President, Human Resources

Karen Clemes, General Counsel

Justin Jones, Chief of Staff


On April 20, 2018, the Utah State Board of Regents announced that Dr. Astrid S. Tuminez is UVU’s next president. President Tuminez will begin at UVU on September 17, 2018.


The Board of Regents commenced a national search in November 2017 with the intention of having a new president named by June 2018.  Under state law, the Board of Regents is charged with appointing new presidents for Utah’s public colleges and universities.  


Dr. Matthew S. Holland, president of Utah Valley University, announced on November 6, 2017, that he has been called to serve as a mission president for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints starting in July 2018. He will continue to serve as UVU president through June 2018. Dr. Jeffery E. Olson, senior vice president of academic affairs, will serve as interim president until President Tuminez arrives.

Welcome Opportunities

Special events are being planned to welcome President Tuminez:

Details will be listed here as they become available.

Farewell Opportunities

We invite you to join us at these events with President Holland:

March 3, 2018: Final home game for Men’s Basketball against Seattle University, 7:00 p.m., UCCU Center

  • Don’t miss the pregame ceremony at 6:45 p.m., with special recognition of President Holland and the UVU seniors on the team.
  • Purchase tickets at


March 7, 2018: Presidential Lecture Series featuring Dr. Hugh Herr, 1:00 p.m., CB-101

  • President Holland’s final Presidential Lecture features innovator and scientist Hugh Herr on “The New Era of Extreme Bionics.”
  • Find more information at


April 18, 2018: President Holland Farewell Reception for Students, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., Student Center Courtyard

  • Students are invited on April 18 from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in the Student Center Courtyard to enjoy some food and have an opportunity to thank and bid farewell to President Holland. Show off your green at this very special Wolverine Wednesday for a last chance to visit with the Hollands before they depart UVU. Pizza, cake, and ice cream will be served.


April 25, 2018: Hoagies with Holland, Farewell Reception for Faculty and Staff, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., UCCU Center

  • Join President Holland for his final Hoagies with Holland Address on April 25 at 11:30 a.m. in the UCCU Center. This will be an opportunity to expand upon the wonderful things happening at UVU and identify the PBA requests that received funding for the 2018-19 academic year. It will also serve as a final opportunity for faculty and staff to bid farewell to President Holland. Lunch will be provided for UVU faculty and staff starting at 11:30 a.m. in the East Courts of the UCCU Center with seating on the arena floor. Program begins at 11:50 a.m.


May 4, 2018: President’s Reception at UVU Convocations, 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Student Life and Wellness Plaza

  • Opportunity for graduates and their families to meet and take photos with President and Paige Holland.


May 24, 2018: Farewell Open House with the Hollands, 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., UVU Fulton Library

  • Celebrate with the Utah Valley community to honor President Matthew Holland and Paige Holland for their dedicated, passionate service to UVU over the last nine years. Join us for light refreshments and music outside the Fulton Library against the backdrop of the Roots of Knowledge Windows for a chance to give your final farewells. 

Presidential Transition Committee

To oversee coordination of the changing of the president, UVU established a Presidential Transition Committee.


It consists of a broad representation of the range of talent and credentials of UVU faculty, staff, and students. Members of the committee include:


  • Justin Jones (Co-chair), Chief of Staff
  • Fern Caka (Co-chair), Chemistry Department Chair, College of Science
  • Tanner Anderson, Presidential Intern
  • Jacob Atkin, AVP, Finance/GRAMA
  • Jessica Ballard, Sr. Director, Executive Events
  • Parker C. Fawson, Dean, School of Education
  • Nathan Gerber, Incoming Chair, PACE, and Dir. of Web Services
  • Jessica Gilmore, AVP, Outreach and Economic Development
  • JC Graham, Director, Crisis Services
  • Jeff Johnson, Director, Institutional Effectiveness, Planning and Accreditation
  • Michelle Kearns, AVP, Student Success & Retention
  • Chelsie Kraczak, VP, Academics, UVUSA
  • Sheri Smederovac, Administrative Assistant to Chief of Staff
  • Kyle Tresner AVP, Major Gifts
  • Jonathan Westover, Associate Professor of Organizational Leadership
  • Stephen Whyte, AVP, Marketing and Communications