The College of Science and Department of Physics are committed to keeping our students and employees safe.  To minimize transmission of COVID-19, nearly all classes for the second block of Summer (June 29-August 14) have been transitioned to online format.  A select few classes will include face-to-face meetings.  If you are enrolled in second-block classes, please contact your teacher directly for information regarding the meeting format of your classes.  Advisors are available for online consultation and will be available for face-to-face meetings on a limited basis. 


Masks or other face coverings are required in classrooms and are strongly encouraged elsewhere on campus.  If you are experiencing any symptoms that may be indicative of COVID-19 (fever, chills, cough, sore throat, headache, muscle ache, loss of taste or smell, congestion, nausea, or diarrhea) please stay home and stay safe.

For general information, please visit the UVU COVID-19 web page, and feel free to contact the Department Chair of Physics (Phil Matheson, and/or the Dean of the College of Science (Daniel Horns,


  • Welcome to the Physics Department



Brandi Pacchiega
Administrative Support

Office: PS REC
Phone: (801) 863-6964

Mailing Address

College of Science - MS 179
800 W. University Parkway
Orem, UT 84058


For individual phone numbers and email addresses, visit our office directory.


 photo of student Learn more

Degrees & Programs

 graduate hats Learn more


 photo of graduation cap Learn more


 photo of researcher Learn more

S.C.U.L.P.T. Partnership

 Learn more

Will Physics meet the educational requirements for the professional credential in the state or US territory you might choose to live during or after completing your UVU degree?

  • Physics Education
  • Utah Educator License

Visit the UVU Professional Licensure website to learn more!