Our Mission

To cultivate the creation and appreciation of visual art, we foster creative confidence, critical thinking, interdisciplinary collaboration, and cultural responsibility. We follow these principles to accomplish our mission:

Visual Literacy - We encourage the development of strong visual literacy among students of the visual arts. We support the study of history, culture, technology and trends to this end.

Professional Excellence - In preparing visual art students for careers in a broad market, we support and expect excellence and professionalism.

Creative Diversity - While teaching techniques, styles, and practices is an important part of our programs, we support a diversity of ideas and individual expressions among students in their creative work. We promote artistic freedom and seek to preserve cultural identity through creative production, exhibition and historical research.

Faculty / Staff

Portrait of Courtney Davis

Courtney Davis

Department Chair

davisco@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8118 | GT 535b | MS: 168
Portrait of Alice Gold

Alice Gold

Administrative Support

Alice.Gold@uvu.edu

801.863.8339 | GT 535 | MS: 168
Portrait of Staci Owens

Staci Owens

Administrative Assistant

owensst@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8341 | GT 535 | MS: 168
Portrait of Phil Ah You

Phil Ah You

Technician

phil.ahyou@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6900 | GT 538c | MS: 168
 
 

Art History

Portrait of Steven Bule

Steven Bule

Professor

sbule@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8627 | FA 311 | MS: 168
Portrait of Courtney Davis

Courtney Davis

Assistant Professor

davisco@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8118 | GT 535b | MS: 168
Portrait of Bob DeWitt

Bob DeWitt

Professor

dewittbo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8406 | GT 535c | MS: 168
Portrait of Travis Clark

Travis Clark

Lecturer

TClark@uvu.edu

Professional Page

| GT 403 | MS: 168
 
 

Foundations

Portrait of Christopher Thornock

Christopher Thornock

Assistant Professor

CThornock@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8297 | GT 406 | MS: 168
Portrait of Heidi Almosara

Heidi Almosara

Assistant Professor

Heidi.Almosara@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5327 | GT 525b | MS: 168
 

Graphic Design

Portrait of Benjamin Evjen

Benjamin Evjen

Assistant Professor
Graphic Design Coordinator

bevjen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5302 | GT 525 | MS: 168
Portrait of Gareth Fry

Gareth Fry

Assistant Professor

Gareth.fry@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6935 | GT 403 | MS: 168
Portrait of Brandon Truscott

Brandon Truscott

Associate Professor

brandon.truscott@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5686 | GT 535a | MS: 168
Portrait of Patrick Wilkey

Patrick Wilkey

Associate Professor

wilkeypa@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6733 | GT 403 | MS: 168
 
 

Illustration

Portrait of Howard Fullmer

Howard Fullmer

Associate Professor

hfullmer@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6491 | GT 405 | MS: 168
Portrait of Perry Stewart

Perry Stewart

Associate Professor
Illustration Coordinator

stewarpe@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.7132 | GT 409 | MS: 168
Portrait of Chad Hardin

Chad Hardin

Assistant Professor

chad.hardin@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6934 | GT 407 | MS: 168
Portrait of Christopher Young

Christopher Young

Assistant Professor

cyoung@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8837 | GT 408 | MS: 168
 
 

Painting / Drawing

Portrait of Nancy Steele-Makasci

Nancy Steele-Makasci

Associate Professor

steelena@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6933 | GT 539a | MS: 168
Portrait of Susan Parkinson

Susan Parkinson

Associate Professor

sparkinson@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8833 | GT 525f | MS: 168
Portrait of Marcus Vincent

Marcus Vincent

Associate Professor:
Painting/Drawing Coordinator

marcus.vincent@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6742 | GT 525 | MS: 168

Photography

Portrait of Reid Elem

Reid Elem

Assistant Professor
Photography Coordinator

relem@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8497 | GT 525c | MS: 168
Portrait of Travis Lovell

Travis Lovell

Associate Professor

Travis.Lovell@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8262 | GT 535 | MS: 168
Portrait of John Rees

John Rees

Associate Professor

jrees@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8158 | GT 525 | MS: 168

Sculpture / Ceramics

Portrait of Brian Jensen

Brian Jensen

Associate Professor

jensenbr@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8223 | GT 411 | MS: 168
Portrait of Mark Talbert

Mark Talbert

Professor:
Sculpture/Ceramics Coordinator

talberma@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6270 | GT 338 | MS: 168
Portrait of Jason Millward

Jason Millward

Lecturer

jason.millward@uvu.edu

Professional Page

| | MS: 168

Professional Associations

Professional associations provide information, conferences, workshops, competition and presentation opportunities, and networking support for artists, designers, art historians, and art educatorspursing professional careers. Manyof these associations offer student memberships at discounted rates. Here is a sampling of national and Utah associationsrelated to Art & Design.