Scott Abbott

Scott Abbott 

Professor
Humanities, Philosophy

scott.abbott@uvu.edu

AOS: German Romanticism,
Literature and Philosophy

Professional Page

801.863.8537 |  CB311E | MS: 145
Kim Abunuwara

Kim Abunuwara

Associate Professor 
humanities

kim@abunuwara.com

AOS: Theatre, Performance Studies,
Divinity in the Arts

Professional Page

801.863.6266| CB 311E| MS: 145
Brian Birch

Brian Birch

PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

brian.birch@uvu.edu

AOS: Philosophy of Religion, Ethics,
Wittgenstein, Epistemology

Professional Page

801.863.8775| CB 507J | MS: 173
Thomas Bretz

Thomas Bretz

assistant PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

tbretz@uvu.edu

AOS: Environmental Philosophy,
Phenomenology, Deconstruction

Professional Page

801.863.8775| CB 507J | MS: 173
Alex Caldiero

Alex Caldiero

Senior Artist In residence
Humanities

acaldiero@uvu.edu

AOS: Poetry, Intermedia, History of
the Avant-Gardes.

Professional Page

801.863.8038 | CB 211 B | MS: 173
Elain Englehardt

Elaine Englehardt

Distinguished Professor
Ethics, Philosophy

elainee@uvu.edu

AOS: Ethics, Moral Theory,
Professional and Practical Ethics, Business Ethics,
Media Ethics, Engineering Ethics

Professional Page

801.863.6464 | CB 411C | MS: 243
Michaela Giesenkirchen - Sawyer

Michaela Giesenkirchen-Sawyer

Associate Professor
Humanities

giesenmi@uvu.edu

AOS: American Modernist Literature,
Gertrude Stein, Intersection of Literature,
Film, Music, and Art with Science and Philosophy.

Professional Page

801.863.6304 | CB 211F| MS: 173
Laura Guerrero

Laura Guerrero

Assistant Professor
Philosophy

laura.guerrero@uvu.edu

AOS: Buddhist Philosophy, Classical Indian Philosophy,
Epistemology, Metaphysics

Professional Page

801.863.7315 | CB 507P | MS: 173
Wayne Hanewicz

Wayne Hanewicz

PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

hanewiwa@uvu.edu

AOS:  Buddhist Studies, Psychoanalysis
and Archetypes, Thinking and
Consciousness Studies, Quantum Paradigm

Professional Page

801.863.6343| CB 311H| MS: 145
Jorgen Hansen

Jorgen Hansen

Lecturer
PHILOSOPHY

jorgen.hansen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5673| CB 507G| MS: 173
Alexandra Karl

Alexandra Karl

lecturer
Humanities

akarl@uvu.edu

AOS: Darwinism in Art, Contemporary Art
(Utah and International), Criticism, Museums
.

Professional Page

801.863.6304| CB 211D | MS: 173
Pierre Lamarche

Pierre Lamarche

PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

pierre.lamarche@uvu.edu

AOS: Existential Phenomenology, Critical Theory,
Post-Structuralism, Marxism, History of Skepticism

Professional Page

801.863.8214| CB 508 | MS: 173
Samuel Liang

Samuel Liang

Associate Professor
Chinese Studies, Humanities

sliang@uvu.edu

AOS: Modern Architecture & Urbanism,
Chinese Cultural Studies, Chinese Art History,
Theories of Modernity, Postcolonial Cities.

Professional Page

801.863.6266| CB 211E| MS: 173
Kelli Potter

Michael Minch

Professor
Philosophy

mminch@uvu.edu

AOS: Political Philosophy, Democratic Theory,
Peace and Justice, Political Ecology,
Christian Theology and Political Theory

Professional Page

801.863.7482| CB 507N| MS: 173
Michael Shaw

Karen Mizell

Professor
Philosophy

karen.mizell@uvu.edu

AOS: Philosophy of Childhood, Aesthetics,
Philosophy of Education, Ethics

Professional Page

801.863.8758| CB 507Q| MS: 173
Shannon Mussett

Shannon Mussett

Professor
Philosophy

shannon.mussett@uvu.edu

AOS: Existentialism, Feminism,
German Idealism

Professional Page

801.863.6264| CB 507F | MS: 173
Thi Nguyen

C. Thi Nguyen

Associate Professor
Philosophy

cnguyen@uvu.edu

AOS: Epistemology

Professional Page

801.863.5490 | CB 507M | MS: 173
Jeffrey Nielsen

Jeffrey Nielsen

LECTURER
PHILOSOPHY

nielsjef@uvu.edu

AOS: Philosophy of Religion, Ethics

Professional Page

801.863.8717 | CB 508B | MS: 173
Kelli Potter

Kelli D. Potter

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

kelli.potter@uvu.edu

AOS: Philosophy of Religion,
History of Analytic Philosophy

Professional Page

801.863.8817 | CB 507D | MS: 173
Leslie Simon

Leslie Simon

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
Humanities

lsimon@uvu.edu

AOS: 19th Century Literature and Culture,
Relation of Literature to Mathematics,
Structures of Narrative, The Rise of the Novel.

Professional Page

801.863.8128 | CB 507B | MS: 173
Michael Shaw

Michael Shaw

PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

michael.shaw@uvu.edu

AOS: Ancient Philosophy

Professional Page

801.863.6265| CB 507C | MS: 173
Eric Stencil

Eric Stencil

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
Philosophy

eric.stencil@uvu.edu

AOS: Early Modern Philosophy

Professional Page

801.863.5489 | CB 507H | MS: 173
Christine Weigel

Christine Weigel

PROFESSOR
PHILOSOPHY

weigelch@uvu.edu

AOS: Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind

Professional Page

801.863.6191| CB 507K | MS: 173