3rd Annual Sustainability Summit

Tuesday, 9 April 2024     |     8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.     |     Clarke Building (CB) 510/511

The Sustainability Summit at Utah Valley University (UVU) is organized to bring together diverse stakeholders, including students, faculty, staff, community members, and industry leaders, to discuss and promote sustainable practices that address environmental, economic, and social challenges. It also provides educational opportunities for participants to learn about best practices, emerging trends, and innovative solutions in sustainability.

Plan your trip - event maps

Summit Speaker bios

Summit Schedule

8:00-8:30 a.m.

Check-in and Light Refreshments - Room CB 510


8:30-8:40 a.m. 

Welcome and Introduction to Sustainability Summit 2024 - Room CB 511


8:40-9:45 a.m.

Government & Sustainability Panel

Michelle Carroll - Executive Director, Mountainland Association of Governments

Kim Frost - Outgoing Executive Director, UCAIR

Tom Westmoreland - Mayor, Eagle Mountain

Moderator: Carolyn Lundberg - Mayor, Lindon City & Vice Chair, Utah Lake Authority


9:45-10:00 a.m.

Networking Break


10:00-11:05 a.m.

Great Salt Lake Panel

Ben Abbott - Executive Director, Grow the Flow & Associate Professor, Brigham Young University

Tim Davis - Vice Commissioner, Great Salt Lake Commission

Lynn de Freitas - Executive Director, FRIENDS of the Great Salt Lake

Nathan Moses - Assistant State Engineer, Utah Division of Water Rights

Moderator: Daren Nelson - Associate Professor, Utah Valley University



11:05-11:40 a.m. 

Networking Break and Lunch - CB 510


11:40-12:45 p.m.

Worldview/Interfaith & Sustainability Panel

Tayler Fearn - Student, Utah Valley University

Ruhul Kuddus - President, Utah Valley Islamic Center & Professor, Utah Valley University

Darren Parry - Former Chair, Northwestern Band of Shoshone & Practitioner-in-Residence, University of Utah

Jenica Sedgwick - Sustainability Manager, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Weihong Wang - Professor & Earth Science Department Chair, Utah Valley University

Moderator: Thomas Bretz - Associate Professor & Environmental Ethics Fellow, Utah Valley University



12:45-1:00 p.m. 

Networking Break


1:00-2:05 p.m. 

Business & Sustainability Panel

Glen Garrick - Systems Sustainability Director, Intermountain Health Care

Shaun Hill - Chief Revenue Officer, Hypercraft

Rita Reed - Principal Advisor of Sustainability, Rio Tinto Kennecott

Jonathan Westover - Professor & Organizational Leadership Department Chair, Utah Valley University

Moderator: Alyssa Sheehan - Founding Board Member, Utah Sustainable Business Coalition



2:05-2:20 p.m.

Networking Break


2:20-3:30 p.m. 

Campus Sustainability Tour

Transportation/Air Quality, Campus Garden, CARE Hub, Outdoor Adventure Center, Recycling, Campus Irrigation, Campus Geothermal Plant

Sarah Bateman - Sustainability Outreach Program Manager

Iris Cepeda - Student, GRIT Garden

Isabel Lykken - Student, GRIT Garden

Kinsey Oldroyd - Food Access Program Manager, CARE Hub

Kim Reynolds - Program Director, Outdoor Adventure Center

Isaac Reaveley - Assistant Director, Facilities Services

Dylan Genes - Coordinator, Recycling

John Hansen - Director, Grounds

Kyle Pope - Manager, Irrigation and Landscaping

Scott Draper - Assistant Director, Central Plant

Thank you to UVU Facilities and Planning for sponsoring this event.

Thank you to the Sustainability Summit Planning Committee:

Carlos Alarco - Office for Global Engagement;Thomas Bretz - College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Kristina Davis - College of Science; Chris Gonzalez - University Marketing and College of Science; Justin Jones - Gary R. Herbert Institute for Public Policy; Tom MacDonald - Woodbury School of Business; Daren Nelson - College of Science; Mark Seastrand - Woodbury School of Business; Weihong Wang - College of Science

Thank you to the UVU Sustainability Committee.