Our Mission

The Department of Theatrical Arts at Utah Valley University is an engaged training ground that cultivates and challenges driven and versatile individuals to become artistically and professionally literate. To deliver this outcome, we practice collaborative learning in the history, genres, methods, and technologies in the field of theatre, as well as sincere and responsive mentorship and innovative productions.

Faculty / Staff

Administration

Portrait of Lisa Hall Hagen

Dr. Lisa Hall Hagen

Department Chair

LisaH@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6272 | FA 325 | MS: 234
Portrait of Loretta King

Loretta King

Administrative Support III

kinglo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6939 | FA 324 | MS: 234
 

Acting

Portrait of Chris Clark

Dr. Christopher Clark

Associate Professor

clarkch@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8345 | GT 603 | MS: 234
Portrait of Laurie Harrop-Purser

Laurie Harrop-Purser, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor

lharrop-purser@uvu.edu

801.863.5507 | FA 320 | MS: 234
Portrait of Jeremy Sortore

Jeremy Sortore, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor: Voice and Movement

jsortore@uvu.edu

801.863.5796 | FA 319 | MS: 234
Portrait of Elizabeth Golden

Elizabeth Golden, M.F.A.

Lecturer

egolden@uvu.edu

801.863.5924 | FA 316 | MS: 234
 
 

Design & Production

Portrait of Lara Beene

Lara Beene, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor: Costume and Makeup

Lara.Beene@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6273 | FA 321 | MS: 234
Portrait of Matthew Taylor

Matthew Taylor, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor: Lighting and Sound

matthew.taylor@uvu.edu

801.863.6198 | FA 322 | MS: 234
Portrait of Stephen Purdy

Stephen Purdy

Lecturer: Set Design

purdyst@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.7281 | FA 323 | MS: 234

Musical Theatre

Portrait of Amanda Crabb

Amanda Crabb, M.M.

Assistant Professor

acrabb@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6756 | FA 326 | MS: 234
Portrait of Matthew Herrick

Matthew Herrick, M.F.A.

Associate Professor

matthew.herrick@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5508 | FA 327 | MS: 234
 

Directing / Secondary Education

Portrait of Dr. Terry Petrie

Dr. Terry Petrie

Professor

jpetriedt@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.8799 | FA 314 | MS: 234
 
 

Playwriting, New Play Development, Dramaturgy

Portrait of Janine Sobeck Knighton

Janine Sobeck Knighton, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor

jknighton@uvu.edu

801.863.7157 | FA 318 | MS: 234
 
 

Theatre for Young Audiences / Elementary Education

Portrait of John Newman

Dr. John Newman

Associate Professor and Director

john.newman@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5079 | CS 636 | MS: 234
 
 

Theatre History

Portrait of Lisa Hall Hagen

Dr. Lisa Hall Hagen

Department Chair

LisaH@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.6272 | FA 325 | MS: 234
 
 

Film

Portrait of Rick Moody

Dr. Rick Moody

Associate Professor

moodyri@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.7158 | FA 317 | MS: 234
Portrait of Jill Robinson

Jill Robinson, M.F.A.

Lecturer

robinsji@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801.863.5355 | FA 315 | MS: 234