UVU announces National Academy of Inventors

UVU announces National Academy of Inventors

Orem, Utah. (December 14, 2022)—Dr. Kazem Sohraby of Utah Valley University’s (UVU) Smith College of Engineering and Technology (CET) has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the organization announced on December 8, 2022.


The NAI Fellows Program highlights academic inventors who have demonstrated a spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. Election as an NAI Fellow is the highest professional distinction awarded to academic inventors.


To date, NAI Fellows holds more than 58,000 issued U.S. patents, which have generated over 13,000 licensed technologies and companies, and created more than one million jobs. In addition, over $3 trillion in revenue has been generated based on NAI Fellow discoveries.


The 2022 Fellow class hails from 110 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes worldwide. They collectively hold over 5,000 issued U.S. patents. Among the new class of Fellows are members of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Fellows of AAAS and other prestigious organizations, Nobel Laureates, other honors and distinctions, as well as senior leadership from universities and research institutions. Their body of research and entrepreneurship covers a broad range of scientific disciplines involved with the technology transfer of their inventions for the benefit of society.


"This year's class of NAI Fellows represents a truly outstanding caliber of innovators. Each of these individuals has made a significant impact through their work and are highly regarded in their respective fields," said Dr. Paul R. Sanberg, FNAI, President of the NAI. "The breadth and scope of their inventions are truly staggering. I am excited to see their creativity continue to define a new era of science and technology in the global innovation ecosystem."


The 2022 class of Fellows will be inducted at the Fellows Induction Ceremony at the 12th Annual Meeting of the National Academy of Inventors on June 27th, 2023, in Washington, D.C.


The complete list of NAI Fellows is available here.


Dr. Sohraby is a professor at UVU’s Smith College of Engineering and Technology and received a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Amirkabir University of Technology, Tehran, Iran, an M.S. degree in electrical engineering from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, MA, an MBA degree from the Wharton School University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from New York University (Polytechnic Engineering Division), New York, NY. He also received educational and professional training at MIT's Sloan, the University of California Berkeley, and George Washington University. From 1984 to 2003, he was a Member of the Technical Staff, then a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff, and finally a Consultant at Bell Laboratories (AT&T and Lucent Technologies). From 1997 to 2003, he was a Professor and Chair of the Telecommunications Management Interdisciplinary Program at the Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ, USA. From 2003 to 2011, he was a professor of electrical engineering, and Director of the Wireless Networks and Systems Laboratory, and Head of the Department of Computer Science and Computer Engineering at, the University of Arkansas. He was a Professor and Head of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, Rapid City, SD.


About Scott M. Smith College of Engineering & Technology at Utah Valley University

The mission of the Smith College of Engineering & Technology (CET) is to prepare students for successful careers or advanced study in a dynamic, technology-based, global environment. CET houses 11 departments consisting of areas in engineering, technology, computer science, culinary, aviation, and digital media. 


About the National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide. It was founded in 2010 to recognize and encourage inventors with patents issued from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), enhance the visibility of academic technology and innovation, encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, educate, and mentor innovative students, and translate the inventions of its members to benefit society. The NAI has a close partnership with the USPTO and is one of three honorific organizations, along with the National Medals and National Inventors Hall of Fame, working closely with the USPTO on many discovery and innovation support initiatives. The NAI publishes the multidisciplinary journal, Technology and Innovationwww.academyofinventors.org 

Media Contacts

Josh Berndt, CET Marketing/Communications Director

801-863-7193 | [email protected]


Scott Trotter, University Marketing and Communications

801-863-6807 | [email protected]