Our Mission

The Department of Music promotes student success through innovative programs that enhance creativity, hone performance expertise, and sustain high standards of excellence. Our professional faculty provide learning opportunities essential to the competency of music students as they prepare for a global marketplace. The department engages diverse audiences through performances and activities representing an array of musical styles and traditions.

Our objectives are to:

  1. Provide nationally-competitive academic programs and general music studies in music that help students achieve their educational, professional, and personal goals. 
  2. Present substantive public performances reflecting diverse musical styles and traditions that provide real-world contexts for student learning and engage audiences with meaningful cultural experiences.
  3. Create an inclusive environment that provides opportunities for students from a wide variety of backgrounds and perspectives to succeed.
  4. Attract, develop, and retain high-achieving students and qualified faculty by promoting opportunities for creative and innovative activities on- and off-campus.

Faculty / Staff

Administration

Portrait of Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Portrait of Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Department Chair

donna.fairbanks@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6538 | GT 332c | MS:165
Portrait of Chris Gines

Chris Gines

Portrait of Chris Gines

Chris Gines

Administrative Assistant

christine.gines@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6480 | GT 332 | MS:165

Ensembles

Portrait of Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Portrait of Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Associate Professor: Director of Orchestral Studies

cheung.chau@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5488 | FA 301 | MS:165
Portrait of Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Portrait of Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Associate Professor: Director of Choral Activities

reed.criddle@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7432 | GT 336 | MS:165
Portrait of Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Portrait of Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Assistant Professor: Director of Jazz and Contemporary Performance

alex.heitlinger@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5643 | FA 303 | MS:165
Portrait of Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Portrait of Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Assistant Professor: Director of Bands

thomas.keck@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6188 | FA 313 | MS:165
Portrait of Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Portrait of Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Assistant Professor: Director of UVU Opera

isaac.hurtado@uvu.edu

  | GT 421 | MS:165
Portrait of Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Portrait of Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Assistant Professor: Percussion Area Coordinator

douglas.smith@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5408 | GT 421 | MS:165
Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 735 | MS:165

Music Studies

Portrait of Daniel Ferguson

Daniel Ferguson

Portrait of Daniel Ferguson

Daniel Ferguson

Adjunct Instructor:Ethnomusicology

Daniel.Ferguson@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Ross Hagen

Ross Hagen

Portrait of Ross Hagen

Ross Hagen

Assistant Professor

ross.hagen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | FA 312 | MS:165
Portrait of Aaron Kirschner

Aaron Kirschner

Portrait of Aaron Kirschner

Aaron Kirschner

Adjunct Instructor:Theory

akirschner@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Ryan Nielsen

Ryan Nielsen

Portrait of Ryan Nielsen

Ryan Nielsen

Associate Professor Trumpet

rnielsen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5931 |   | MS:165
Portrait of Bryce Rytting

Bryce Rytting

Portrait of Bryce Rytting

Bryce Rytting

Professor: Theory & Musicology

bryce.rytting@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6852 | FA 310 | MS:165

Music Education

Portrait of Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Portrait of Thomas Keck

Thomas Keck

Assistant Professor: Director of Bands

thomas.keck@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6188 | FA 313 | MS:165
Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 735 | MS:165

Commercial Music

Portrait of Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Portrait of Alex Heitlinger

Alex Heitlinger

Assistant Professor: Director of Jazz and Contemporary Performance

alex.heitlinger@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5643 | FA 303 | MS:165
Portrait of Nathan Hofheins

Nathan Hofheins

Portrait of Nathan Hofheins

Nathan Hofheins

Artist in Residence: Commercial Music - Composition & Production

nhofheins@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5486 | FA 302 | MS:165
Portrait of Todd Sorensen

Todd Sorensen

Portrait of Todd Sorensen

Todd Sorensen

Artist in Residence: Commercial Music - Composition & Production

todd.sorensen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5485 | GT 342 | MS:165

Applied Music / Performance

Brass

Portrait of Natalie Douglass

Natalie Douglass

Portrait of Natalie Douglass

Natalie Douglass

Assistant Professor: French HornBrass Coordinator

natalie.douglass@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | FA 308  | MS:165
Portrait of Dr. Seretta Hart

Seretta Hart

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Mike McCawley

Mike McCawley

Portrait of Mike McCawley

Mike McCawley

Tuba

10222447@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Craig Moore

Craig Moore

Portrait of Craig Moore

Craig Moore

Trombone

10658765@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Ryan Nielsen

Ryan Nielsen

Portrait of Ryan Nielsen

Ryan Nielsen

Associate Professor Trumpet

rnielsen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5931 |   | MS:165
Portrait of Kyra Sovronsky

Kyra Sovronsky

Portrait of Kyra Sovronsky

Kyra Sovronsky

Trumpet

kyra.sovronsky@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165

Guitar

Portrait of Kristen Bromley

Kristen Bromley

Portrait of Kristen Bromley

Kristen Bromley

 

kbromley@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 509a | MS:165
Portrait of Rich Dixon

Rich Dixon

  | GT 509a | MS:165
Portrait of Cindy Spell

Cindy Spell

Portrait of Cindy Spell

Cindy Spell

Guitar Coordinator  

cynthia.spell@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 509a | MS:165

Percussion

Portrait of Jed Blodgett

Jed Blodgett

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Keith Carrick

Keith Carrick

Portrait of Keith Carrick

Keith Carrick

 

 keith.carrick@uvu.edu

  |   |  MS:165
Portrait of Stephen Lyman

Stephen Lyman

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Portrait of Doug Smith

Doug Smith

Assistant Professor: Percussion Area Coordinator

douglas.smith@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5408 | GT 421 | MS:165

Piano

Portrait of Koji Attwood

Koji Attwood

Portrait of Koji Attwood

Koji Attwood

Piano

10659560@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Hilary Demske

Hilary Demske

Portrait of Hilary Demske

Hilary Demske

Associate Professor: Piano Coordinator

hilary.demske@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7360 | GT 337b | MS:165
Portrait of Joanna Oshida

Joanna Oshida

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Kurt Reeder

Kurt Reeder

Portrait of Kurt Reeder

Kurt Reeder

Jazz Piano

10572405@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Armen Sahakyan

Armen Sahakyan

  |   | MS:165

Strings

Portrait of Denson Angulo

Denson Angulo

Portrait of Denson Angulo

Denson Angulo

Double Bass & Electric Bass

denson.angulo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Yeagi Broadwell

Yeagi Broadwell

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Portrait of Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Associate Professor: Director of Orchestral Studies

cheung.chau@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5488 | FA 736 | MS:165
Portrait of Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Portrait of Donna Fairbanks

Donna Fairbanks

Department Chair

donna.fairbanks@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6538 | GT 332c | MS:165
Portrait of Leslie Harlow

Leslie Harlow

Portrait of Leslie Harlow

Leslie Harlow

Viola / Chamber

harlomar@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Jakob Hofer

Jakob Hofer

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Janet Peterson

Janet Peterson

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Cynthia Richards

Cynthia Richards

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Portrait of Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Monika Rosborough-Bowman

Cello

monikar@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165

Voice

Portrait of Demaree Brown

Demaree Brown

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Serena Kanig Benish

Serena Kanig Benish

Portrait of Serena Kanig Benish

Serena Kanig Benish

Voice

serena.kanig@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Cecily Bills

Cecily Bills

Portrait of Cecily Bills

Cecily Bills

Voice

10585367@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Portrait of Reed Criddle

Reed Criddle

Associate Professor: Director of Choral Activities

reed.criddle@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7432 | GT 336 | MS:165
Portrait of Melissa Heath

Melissa Heath

Portrait of Melissa Heath

Melissa Heath

Assistant Professor: Voice Coordinator

melissa.heath@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-5307 | FA 305 | MS:165
Portrait of Christopher Holmes

Christopher Holmes

Portrait of Christopher Holmes

Christopher Holmes

Voice

cholmes@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Portrait of Isaac Hurtado

Isaac Hurtado

Assistant Professor: Voice / Opera

isaac.hurtado@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  | GT 421 | MS:165
Portrait of Connie Jensen

Connie Jensen

  | GT 337 | MS:165
Portrait of Juan Pereira

Juan Pereira

Portrait of Juan Pereira

Juan Pereira

Voice

jpereira@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Heide-Marie Slezak

Heide-Marie Slezak

Portrait of Heide-Marie Slezak

Heide-Marie Slezak

Voice

hslezak@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Portrait of Cherilyn Worthen

Cherilyn Worthen

Assistant Professor: Choral Education

cherilyn.worthen@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8092 | FA 306 | MS:165

Woodwinds

Portrait of Marco Blackmore

Marco Blackmore

Portrait of Marco Blackmore

Marco Blackmore

  Saxophone

 mblackmore@uvu.edu 

  |   |  MS:165
Portrait of Rebecca Chapman

Rebecca Chapman

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Luca Florin

Luca Florin

Portrait of Luca Florin

Luca Florin

Oboe / English Horn

lflorin@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Brian Hicks

Brian Hicks

Portrait of Brian Hicks

Brian Hicks

Bassoon

10014740@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Jeffrey O'Flynn

Jeffrey O'Flynn

Portrait of Jeffrey O'Flynn

Jeffrey O'Flynn

Assistant Professor: Clarinet Woodwind Coordinator

jeffrey.oflynn@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8810 | FA 307 | MS:165

Collaborative Piano

Portrait of Jana Ellsworth

Jana Ellsworth

Portrait of Jana Ellsworth

Jana Ellsworth

 

janalingkee@hotmail.com

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Jayne Galloway

Jayne Galloway

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Michael Leavitt

Michael Leavitt

Portrait of Michael Leavitt

Michael Leavitt

 

mike@michaelgl.com

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Jed Moss

Jed Moss

Portrait of Jed Moss

Jed Moss

 

jedmoss6981@msn.com

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of John Sargeant

John Sargeant

  |   | MS:165
Portrait of Lori Weiss

Lori Weiss

  |   | MS:165

Professional Associations

Professional associations provide information, conferences, workshops, competition and presentation opportunities, and networking support for musicians pursing professional careers. Many of these associations offer student memberships at discounted rates. Here is a sampling of national and Utah music associations.