Our Mission

The mission of Utah Valley University Department of Dance is to foster academic and artistic excellence through an intensive technical and reflective study of dance. Anchored in a common core curriculum with several areas of emphasis, our program provides a rich and stimulating environment where students cultivate their technical, aesthetic, creative, and scholarly potential. We value superior teaching, which promotes dance as an artistic and cultural expression that has the power to enrich and transform the individual, community, and society.

Objectives

  • Foster academic and artistic excellence through programs that meet nationally competitive standards.
  • Cultivate a vibrant engaged student-centered learning environment where imagination, creativity and innovation are fostered and promoted.
  • Prepare a highly motivated, talented and diverse student body for graduate school, careers in dance and related fields, and lifelong learning.

Faculty / Staff

Administration

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Department Chair, Professor

Doris.Trujillo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6444 | LA 022d | MS:233
Elaine Miner

Elaine Miner

Elaine Miner

Elaine Miner

Administrative Assistant

minerel@uvu.edu

801-863-8610 | LA 022 | MS:233

Ballet

Mark Borchelt

Mark Borchelt

Mark Borchelt

Mark Borchelt

Associate Professor

mark.borchelt@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6759 | LA 022j | MS:233
Jackie College

Jackie College

Jackie College

Jackie College

Ballet Program Coordinator

colledja@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7480 | LA 022e | MS:233
Heather Gray

Heather Gray

Heather Gray

Heather Gray

Lecturer

grayhe@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6867 | LA 022w | MS:233
Jamie Johnson

Jamie Johnson

Jamie Johnson

Jamie Johnson

Assistant Professor

jamie.johnson@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6968 | LA 022c | MS:233
Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Associate Professor

Nichole.Ortega@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7197 | LA 022f | MS:233
Rachelle Brooks

Rachelle Brooks

Rachelle Brooks

Rachelle Brooks

Adjunct Instructor

RachelleB@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233

Staci DeVoogt

Staci DeVoogt

Adjunct Instructor

staci.devoogt@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Kaitlyn Potts

Kaitlyn Potts

Adjunct Instructor

kaitlynmpotts@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Brooke Storheim

Brooke Storheim

Brooke Storheim

Brooke Storheim

Adjunct Instructor

brooke.storheim@uvu.edu 

  |   | MS:233
Corrine Wallentine

Corrine Wallentine

Corrine Wallentine

Corrine Wallentine

Adjunct Instructor

CWallentine@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233

Ballroom Dance

Chris Williams

Chris Williams

Chris Williams

Chris Williams

Assistant Professor: Ballroom Company Director

cwilliams@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-8754 | LA 022u | MS:233
Chris Witt

Chris Witt

Chris Witt

Chris Witt

Associate Professor

wittch@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6757 | LA 022m | MS:233
Tara Boyd

Tara Boyd

Tara Boyd

Tara Boyd

Adjunct Instructor

taraboydstar1@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Ryan Di Lello

Ryan Di Lello

Ryan Di Lello

Ryan Di Lello

Adjunct Instructor

ryandilello@gmail.com

Professional Page

  |   | MS:233
Kristen Hawkins

Kristen Hawkins

Kristen Hawkins

Kristen Hawkins

Adjunct Instructor

KristenH@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:233
Lori Hicks

Lori Hicks

Lori Hicks

Lori Hicks

Adjunct Instructor

lorihicks87@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Shayla Kennington

Shayla Kennington

Shayla Kennington

Shayla Kennington

Adjunct Instructor

skennington@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233
Todd Wakefield

Todd Wakefield

Todd Wakefield

Todd Wakefield

Adjunct Instructor

toddw@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233

Dance Education

Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Professor

kathie.debenham@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7129 | LA 022k | MS:233
Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Associate Professor: Dance Education Coordinator

Amy.Markgraf@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6394 | LA 022g | MS:233
Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Nichole Ortega

Associate Professor

Nichole.Ortega@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7197 | LA 022f | MS:233
Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Professor

Doris.Trujillo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6444 | LA 022d | MS:233

Chelsea Alley

Chelsea Alley

Adjunct Instructor

chelsea.alley26@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Angela Challis

Angela Challis

Adjunct Instructor

angelachallis@yahoo.com

  |   | MS:233

Modern/Contemporary Dance

Angela Banchero-Kelleher

Angela Banchero-Kelleher

Angela Banchero-Kelleher

Angela Banchero-Kelleher

Associate Professor

AngieB@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6453 | LA 022h | MS:233
Monica Campbell

Monica Campbell

Monica Campbell

Monica Campbell

Associate Professor: Modern/Contemporary Dance Program Coordinator

monica.campbell@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6869 | LA 022n | MS:233
Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Kathie Debenham

Professor

kathie.debenham@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7129 | LA 022k | MS:233
Sarah Donohue

Sarah Donohue

Sarah Donohue

Sarah Donohue

Assistant Professor

sarahd@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-7225 | LA 022v | MS:233
Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Amy Markgraf-Jacobson

Associate Professor

Amy.Markgraf@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6394 | LA 022g | MS:233
Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Doris Hudson de Trujillo

Professor

Doris.Trujillo@uvu.edu

Professional Page

801-863-6444 | LA 022d | MS:233

Natalie Desch

Natalie Desch

Adjunct Instructor

nataliedesch@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Jill Edwards

Jill Edwards

Adjunct Instructor

jilleddy@hotmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Jamie Myers

Jamie Myers

Jamie Myers

Jamie Myers

Adjunct Instructor

jamie2myers@gmail.com

Professional Page

  | LA 022c | MS:233

Sara Yanney

Sara Yanney

Adjunct Instructor

sarayc.syc@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

General Dance Faculty

Ashley Anderson

Ashley Anderson

Art Form

ashley.michelle.anderson@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Jacquelyn Potts

Jacquelyn Potts

Art Form & Orientation

jacquelyn.potts@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Maylene White

Maylene White

Art Form

maylenew@netscape.net

  |   | MS:233

Katie Taylor

Katie Taylor

Composition & Modern/Contemporary

kathryn.taylor@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233

Heidi Beier

Heidi Beier

Composition & Modern/Contemporary

heidi@beier.ws

  |   | MS:233
Ashleigh Di Lello

Ashleigh Di Lello

Ashleigh Di Lello

Ashleigh Di Lello

Conditioning

ashleigh.dilello@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Pat Debenham

Pat Debenham

Fundamentals of Movement

hpdebenham@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Samijo Kougioulis

Samijo Kougioulis

Fundamentals of Movement

skougioulis8@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Ashley Kimsey

Ashley Kimsey

Ashley Kimsey

Ashley Kimsey

Hip Hop: MOS.A.I.C. Director

ashleykimsey801@gmail.com

Professional Page

  |   | MS:233

Jasmine Quinton

Jasmine Quinton

Hip Hop

jasmine.quinton30@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Ismael Arrieta

Ismael Arrieta

Jazz & Modern/Contemporary

ima.arrieta@hotmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Megan Craney

Megan Craney

Jazz & Conditioning

megcranney@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Shanna Weight

Shanna Weight

Shanna Weight

Shanna Weight

Jazz

shannaudance@msn.com

  |   | MS:233

Rosie Banchero

Rosie Banchero

African Dance

rosiebanchero@yahoo.com

  |   | MS:233

Bradley Smith

Bradley Smith

Dance Movement Therapy

bradleysmith11@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Aleisha Paspuel

Aleisha Paspuel

Dance and Technology

aleishahamilton@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233
Marden Pond

Marden Pond

Marden Pond

Marden Pond

Adjunct Instructor: Music for Dancers

pondma@uvu.edu

Professional Page

  |   | MS:233

Moana Angilau

Moana Angilau

Polynesian

divamojo@gmail.com

  |   | MS:233

Accompanists

Kevin Anderson

Kevin Anderson

Modern/Contemporary Dance Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Nathanael Anderson

Nathanael Anderson

Accompanist Director: Modern/Contemporary Dance Accompanists

Nate.Anderson@uvu.edu

  |   | MS:233

Heath Edwards

Heath Edwards

Modern/Contemporary Dance Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Michelle Golightly

Michelle Golightly

Ballet Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Josiah Pugmire

Josiah Pugmire

Modern/Contemporary Dance Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Amalie Simper

Amalie Simper

Ballet Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Kaz Spiers

Kaz Spiers

African Dance Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Wachira Waigwa-Stone

Wachira Waigwa-Stone

Modern/Contemporary Dance Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Kimball Whitaker

Kimball Whitaker

Ballet Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Terri White

Terri White

Ballet Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Richard Williams

Richard Williams

Ballet Accompanists

 

  |   | MS:233

Professional Associations

Professional associations or organizations can be a great way to meet, learn from and network with professionals in your field of interest. Inexpensive student memberships are often available. These are only a sampling of professional associations. Be sure to search for others that may be applicable or helpful.