About Us

SCULPT is a faculty-led autonomous entity housed within Academic Affairs at Utah Valley University. The Office of Teaching and Learning supplies administrative and support services for SCULPT as needed. SCULPT is led and directed entirely by faculty volunteers. SCULPT works cooperatively with the Office of Teaching and Learning (OTL), the Office of Engaged Learning (OEL), and Academic Affairs. 

SCULPT provides resources to faculty members for developing inquiry-based pedagogy, encourages and recognizes undergraduate research, provides training for faculty in mentoring, advocates for recognition of inquiry-based teaching and learning in the RTP process, and provides information to students and faculty about funding opportunities and other research assistance. 

SCULPT provides faculty resources for:

  • Developing inquiry-based pedagogy,
  • Encouraging undergraduate research,
  • Developing programs,
  • Mentoring students,
  • Developing skills and traits in students, and
  • Helping identify and pursue funding.

Faculty: Join SCULPT!

Joining SCULPT is easy! To get on the list, please email sculpt@uvu.edu and you will be notified of SCULPT meetings, activities, and opportunities as they come up. Faculty members do not need to be members to benefit from SCULPT activities and resources, but being a member will put you in touch with other faculty members who also value inquiry-based learning for students. Show your support for undergraduate research and inquiry-based pedagogy by adding your name to the list of members.

SCULPT Co-Chairs

Loading Directory data....

Loading Directory data....

Loading Directory data....


SCULPT Advisory Board 2020-21

First Last Department
Angie Banchero-Kelleher Dance, SoA
Roxanne Brinkerhoff UC (alternate)
Angie Carter English & Literature, CHSS
Eric Domyan Biology, CoS
Ashley Egan Biology, CoS
Allison Ensign Nursing, CHPS
Sarah Hall Health, CHPS
Vern Hart Physics, CoS
Joe Jensen Physics, CoS (former Co-Chair)
Alma Laney Biology, CoS (alternate)
Ryan Leick Aviation, CHIPS
Rich Paustenbaugh Library
Abdennour Seibi Mechanical Engineering, CET (alternate)
Dustin Shipp Physics, CoS
Xu Sun Finance, Business
Abraham Teng Computer Science, CET
Susan Thackeray Technology Management, CET
Heather Wilson-Ashworth Biology, CoS


Previous co-chairs

Anne Arendt, College of Engineering & Technology, 2015/16, 2016/17.

Olga Kopp, College of Science, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18.

Maritza Sotomayor, Woodbury School of Business, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18.

Ana M. Aguilera, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, 2017/18.

Jessi Hill, CHSS Behavioral Science, 2018/19.

Joseph Jensen, College of Science, 2018/19, 2019/20.

Anton Tolman, CHSS Behavioral Science, 2018/19, 2019/20.

Ron Hammond, CHSS Behavioral Science, 2019/20.

Seth Christensen, College of Engineering & Technology, 2019/20, 2020/21.