Keynote Speaker


Portrait of Regan Zane

Regan Zane

Utah State University

Abstract and Biography




Dr. Regan Zane is the Director of the Center for Advancing Sustainability through Powered Infrastructure for Roadway Electrification (ASPIRE), an NSF sponsored engineering research center involving 9 universities, more than 65 faculty, 160 students and a dozen full-time staff, 4 national lab partners, and more than 50 industry and innovation partners. He holds the David G. and Diann L. Sant Endowed Professor position at Utah State University in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, where he founded the USU Power Electronics Lab (UPEL), the Electric Vehicle and Roadway (EVR) research facility and test track, and the Battery Limits and Survivability Test (BLAST) lab. Dr. Zane has published more than 200 peer-reviewed articles, served as co-inventor on more than 30 issued patents, has received international and institutional recognition in research, teaching and innovation, and has raised more than $60 million in research funding to date. His research programs cover key aspects of electrified transportation charging systems and infrastructure, from battery, vehicle, and charging systems to grid integration, smart charge management, demand response and distributed energy resources. His programs maintain a strong emphasis on collaboration with academic, government and industry partners to develop and transition innovative technologies into the marketplace. Additional research topics include wireless power transfer, control of series/parallel input/output converters, high efficiency, high frequency, high power density, and high performance dc-dc, ac-dc, dc-ac power converters, ac and dc microgrids, battery management systems, drivers for LEDs and discharge lamps in energy efficient lighting systems, active stability control and adaptive tuning in multi-input, multi-output converter systems, active converter and system health monitoring, power integrated circuit design, and low-power energy harvesting.


Portrait of Adam Robertson

Adam Robertson

Utah House of Representatives

Abstract and Biography




Mr. Robertson is a devoted husband and the proud father of 8 children. He is the co-founder and CTO of Fortem Technologies where he led the early development of the groundbreaking TrueView radar and DroneHunter products. His technical areas of expertise include millimeter wave electronics, compound semi-conductors, radar system for drones, and avionics. His business areas of expertise include contract law, intellectual property, negotiation, international export, strategy, business development, and raising capital. He holds an MSEE and MBA from BYU and is the inventor on multiple patents. Mr. Robertson currently serves in the community as an elected official in the Utah House of Representatives, on the Board of the Provo City Airport, and as a High School mountain biking assistant coach.

i-ETC 2024 Committee

Executive Chairs

Portrait of John Edwards (BYU)

John Edwards

General Chair


Portrait of Spencer Guthrie (BYU)

Spencer Guthrie

General Co-Chair


Portrait of JP Tang (UVU)

Jingpeng Tang

General Co-Chair


Portrait of Mohammad A.S. Masoum (UVU)

Mohammad A.S. Masoum

Advisory Board Chair


Portrait of Stephen Schultz (BYU)

Stephen Schultz

Advisory Board


Portrait of Kelly Flanagan (UVU)

Kelly Flanagan

Advisory Board


Portrait of Neil Harrison (IEEE)

Neil Harrison

Advisory Board


Program Chairs

Portrait of Brad Whitaker

Brad Whitaker

Program and Publication Chair


Portrait of Taher Deemyad

Taher Deemyad

Program Committee (engineering)


Portrait of Barry Lunt

Barry Lunt

Program Committee (technology)


Portrait of Sayeed Sajal

Sayeed Sajal

Program Committee (computing)


Portrait of Frank Jones

Frank Jones

Program Committee (computing)

Supporting Chairs and Organizing Committee Members

Portrait of Dan Hatch (UVU)

Dan Hatch

Web Chair


Belle Edwards

Belle Edwards

Web Intern


Portrait of Masood Parvania

Masood Parvania

Chair, IEEE Utah PES



Todd Palmer (UVU)

Mohammad Shekaramiz

IEEE Liaison Chair


Shanker Shrestha (IEEE)

Shanker Shrestha

Chair, IEEE Utah



Todd Palmer (UVU)

Todd Palmer


Conference Technical Committee

Mohammad A.S. Masoum
Utah Valley University, USA 

Wei Wang
San Diego State University, USA

Syed Islam
Federation University, Australia

Regan Zane
Utah State University, USA

Zann Anderson
Utah Valley University, USA

Xiangjing Su
Shanghai University of Electric Power, China

Sara Deilami
Macquarie University, Australia

Keyue Smedley
University of California, Irvine, USA

Larry Zeng
Utah Valley University, USA

Dan Donahoe
Chair of IEEE Utah Section

Shanker Shrestha
Vice Chair IEEE Utah Section

Udhaya Kumar Dayalan
Director of Academia, INCOSE Northstar Chapter

Paul Moses
University of Oklahoma, USA

Farhad Shahnia
Murdoch University, Australia  

Peter Wolfs
Central Queensland University, Australia

Adel Ali
St. Cloud State University, USA

Reza Razzaghi
Monash University, Australia

Kim Brown
Utah Valley University, USA

Ahmed Abu-Siada
Curtin University, Australia

Yaser Derakhshandeh
Shahrekord University, Iran

Dongsheng Brian Ma
University of Texas at Dallas

Chad Kidder
Past Chair IEEE Utah Section

Rose Hu
IEEE Fellow, Utah State University, USA

Neil Harrison
Utah Valley University, USA

Mahdi Bojnordi
University of Utah, USA

Baigen Cai
Beijing Jiaotong University, China

Yuri Tijerino
Kwansei Gakuin University, Japan

Daryoush Habibi
Edith Cowan University, Australia

Ali Karrech
University of Western Australia, Australia

S. M. Muyeen
Curtin University, Australia 

Tyler Bird
Utah Valley University, USA

Cynthia Furse
IEEE Fellow, University of Utah, USA

Dan Christensen
Chair IEEE Senior Member Elevation

Jacob Gunther
IEEE Senior Member, Utah State University, USA