2020 | 2021 Academic Year

New This Year

The Office of Teaching and Learning is pleased to announce that we will be offering two new categories of awards: Best Design - Hybrid and Best Delivery - Hybrid. These new categories will showcase exciting new approaches that blend the best of face-to-face and online teaching modalities.

2020-2021 Dates

2020-2021 Prizes

  • 1st place | $3,000
  • 2nd place | $2,000
  • 3rd place | $1,000

Best Design (Online and Hybrid)

The Best Design award is given to courses that exemplify sound principles of online course design. Courses nominated for this award should be detailed in their orientation, varied in its activities and assessments, rigorous, and strongly situated towards student success.

Contact your department CFLC representative about the specific process within your school/college. As part of the process you will be asked to fill out a Quality Review Response and an Areas of Innovation reflection. The Quality Review Response will be weighted as 70% of the applicant score and the Areas of Innovation reflection will be weighted as 30% of the applicant score.

Best Delivery (Online and Hybrid)

The Best Delivery award is given to instructors who demonstrate engaged learning within their online course. In contrast to the Best Design award, which is given based on how the course is structured, the Best Delivery award is given based on what instructors do to support their students within an online course. Instructors submitting applications for Best Delivery should be able to explain how they are present within their course in multiple ways with demonstrated impact.

Contact your CFLC representative for more information about the process within your school or college. As part of the submission process you will be asked to write up to 500 words describing their online teaching philosophy. The written responses will be evaluated using a delivery rubric.

Other Submission Rules 

  1. Courses have been quality reviewed no earlier than 2018.
  2. Previous Online Teaching Awards winners are not eligible to submit an application this year.
  3. Other rules will be provided by the school/college CFLC.


Contact your CFLC representative with any questions about the process.

First Place

Jacque Preston, UC

Second Place

Stacy Waddoups & Mike Jensen, UC

Third Place

Jordan Allen & Janet Colvin, CHSS

Third Place

Mary Brown & Merilee Larsen, CHPS

2019-2020 Best Delivery Winners 

First Place

Amy Baird
University College

Second Place

Jessi Hill
College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Third Place

Kathryn Robinson
College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Third Place

Jack Troutt
College of Health and Public Service