Page PDF

Languages and Cultures

Department

Name:

Languages and Cultures

Location:

CB 306

Telephone:

801-863-8518

Email:

Amelia.Riding@uvu.edu

Web Address:

uvu.edu/lang

Chair:

Dr. Jeff Packer

Chair UVU Email:

packerje@uvu.edu

 
 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Languages and Cultures at Utah Valley University is to prepare students to interact effectively in a global community by acquiring competent communicative skills, and developing sensitivity toward cultural differences. By engaging with linguistic and cultural artifacts such as history, literature, and contemporary social structures and systems, language and culture students learn to think critically and behave ethically as they mature in linguistic and cultural literacy. This department prepares students to enter the global work force, further graduate studies and enjoy lifelong enrichment.

 
 

Languages and Cultures

  • Administrative Contact: Amelia Riding, Admin II
  • Telephone: 801-863-8047
  • Email: Amelia.Riding@uvu.edu
  • Mail Stop: 167
  • Administrative Contact: Sally Walker, Admin III
  • Telephone: 801-863-7232
  • Email: Sally.Walker@uvu.edu
  • Mail Stop: 167
  • Advising: 
  • Telephone: 801-863-8047
  • Email:
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Bryan Eldredge, ASL & Deaf Studies
  • Telephone: 801-863-8529
  • Email: bryane@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Alex Yuan, Chinese
  • Telephone: 801-863-5199
  • Email: gyuan@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Gloria Gilmore, French
  • Telephone: 801-863-7262
  • Email: Gloria.Gilmore@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Jeff Packer, German, Japanese & Russian
  • Telephone: 801-863-8626
  • Email:  packerje@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Debora Ferreira, Portuguese
  • Telephone: 801-863-6919
  • Email: Debora.Ferreira@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Dr. Jorge Nisguritzer, Spanish
  • Telephone: 801-863-8231
  • Email: nisgurjo@uvu.edu
  • Program Coordinator Contact: Travis Young, ACIPP Lab & Language Lab
  • Telephone: 801-863-6427
  • Email: Travis.Young@uvu.edu

The Language Lab, located at LA 003g, is open Monday-Friday and offers a variety of resources for students to practice language skills and get help using computers & software, tutoring one-on-one, in groups and watching DVD movies. To schedule appointments with tutors, call 801-863-7257. The Language Department Blog with lab hours and tutor schedules is http://blogs.uvu.edu/languages.

 
 

Degrees & Programs

Courses

Faculty